Hawkeye Women Take Invite Title

April 13, 2013

Complete Results

MACOMB, Ill. – The University of Iowa track and field team recorded 14 first-place finishes at the Lee Calhoun Invitational on Saturday. The Hawkeye women won the meet title with a total of 212 points, while the men finished second with 170.5 points.

The Hawkeye women took both the 400-meter and 1,600-meter relay titles. The 400-meter relay team of freshman Lake Kwaza, junior Raven Moore, freshman MonTayla Holder and junior Zinnia Miller recorded a time of 46.07, while the 1,600-meter relay team of Holder, Kwaza, Moore and freshman Kaitlyn Nelson clocked a time of 3:45.39. The men’s 1,600-meter relay team of sophomore Kaleb VanCleave, freshman Neil Flattery, and seniors Ryan Weir and Keaton Rickels ran to a second-place finish. The quartet crossed the line in 3:14.16.

Moore recorded a first-place finish in the women’s 100 meters. The junior clocked a time of 12.14. Sophomore Sarah Ryan finished fourth in the event with a time of 12.69. Senior Jordan Mullen ran to a fourth-place finish in the men’s 100 meters. Mullen clocked a time of 10.99. Senior Ethan Holmes finished sixth in the event with a time of 11.01, while sophomores Torrey Campbell (11.02) and Babatunde Amosu (11.04) finished eighth and ninth, respectively.

Sophomore Khanishah Williams ran to a first-place finish in the women’s 100-meter hurdles. Williams clocked a personal-best time of 14.49. Senior Jordan Mullen grabbed the men’s 110-meter hurdles title. Mullen crossed the line in 14.00.

Kwaza recorded a personal-best time in the women’s 200 meters. The freshman finished first with a personal-best time of 24.18. Holmes took the title in the men’s 200 meters when he crossed the line in 21.67. Senior Josh Larney finished fifth in the event with a time of 21.87.

Holder took the women’s 400-meter hurdles title. The freshman recorded a time of 1:00.73.

“I think we had a lot of solid performances,” said Larry Wieczorek, director of track and field. “It was a step forward for both the men and women. I think this meet definitely prepared us well for the Musco Twilight next weekend.”

Nelson (2:09.93) and junior Adrianne Alexia (2:12.07) finished first and second, respectively, in the women’s 800 meters. Freshman Neil Flattery clocked a personal-best time in the men’s 800 meters. Flattery finished fourth with a time of 1:53.56. Freshman Will Teubel followed close behind, finishing fifth with a time of 1:55.42.

Freshman Lisa Gordon and graduate student Lauren Scott finished first and second, respectively, in the women’s 1,500 meters. Gordon clocked a time of 4:36.11, while Scott crossed the line in 4:36.75. Senior Brooke Gambrall took fourth in the event with a time of 4:40.57, while sophomore Shannon Maser recorded a personal-best time of 4:44.43 to finish seventh.

Nathan Prom took the men’s 1,500 meter title. The junior recoded a personal-best time of 3:55.15. Senior Nate Lonsway (4:02.42; 7th) and Sam Chaney (4:05.06; 14th) also competed in the event.

The Hawkeye women swept the top three spots in the women’s hammer throw. Sophomore Annemie Smith took the title with a toss of 183-8 (55.99m), while juniors Jasmine Simpson (181-6; 55.33m) and Ashlyn Gulvas (178-1; 54.27m) finished second and third, respectively. Junior Chelsea Colpitts recorded a personal-best toss of 162-5 (49.51m) to finish sixth. Her mark ranks eighth all-time at Iowa. Senior Majesty Tutson finished eighth in the event when she recorded a mark of 153-10 (46.88m), while freshman Dakotah Goodell’s mark of 133-11 (40.81m) earned her a 15th place finish. Ben Stancombe finished fifth in the men’s hammer throw. The senior recorded a mark of 182-1 (55.50m). Sophomore Gabe Hull finished seventh in the event. Hull recorded a personal-best toss of 168-00 (51.22m).

Hull took the title in the men’s shot put competition. The sophomore recorded a mark of 54-3 ¾ (16.55m). Junior Andrew Carman finished tenth in the event with a toss of 46-9 1//2 (14.26m). Rachel Curry finished second in the women’s shot put. The senior recorded a toss of 45-7 ¾ (13.91m).

Freshman Klyvens Delaunay finished first in the men’s triple jump. Delaunay recorded a leap of 48-8 (14.83m). Freshman David Nsabua earned a third-place finish with a mark of 46-10 ¼ (14.28m), while freshman Kerry Dean Jr. finished sixth (45-7 ¼; 13.90m).

Senior Kirsten Weismantle and sophomore Brittany Holst tied for third place in the women’s pole vault. The duo cleared a height of 10-8 (3.25m). Senior Kyle Reid (15-7; 4.75m) finished third in the men’s pole vault.

Seniors Ryan Weir and Kyle Slaymaker clocked personal-best times in the men’s 400 meters. Weir finished fifth with a time of 49.15, while Kyle Slaymaker finished seventh with a time of 49.29.

Caleb Wilfong ran to a second-place finish in the men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase. The freshman clocked a time of 9:33.00. Sophomore Jocelyn Todd ran to a third-place finish in the women’s 3,000 meters. Todd recorded a time of 10:10.46. Junior Sam Chaney finished sixth in the men’s 3,000 with a time of 8:49.62.

The Hawkeyes host the Musco Twilight XIV on April 20.