Hawkeyes Announce 2012-13 Award Winners

April 15, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa swimming and diving team handed out its annual team awards Saturday night at the Art Building West.

Sophomore Grant Betulius and senior Byron Butler shared the Armbruster/Patton Most Valuable Player award, while freshman Addison Boschult was the recipient of the “Lobbey” Lobdell Award given to the diving team MVP.

Junior Lindsay Seemann was recognized as the women’s MVP, and junior Abby Grilli was recognized as the Nancilea Underwood award winner, given to the top female diver.

Betulius earned the Armbruster Patton MVP award after earning honorable mention All-America honors in three events at the 2013 NCAA Championships. The Illinois native broke the school record in the 100-yard backstroke (46.33), while also being a member of the record-breaking 200 (1:25.82) and 400 (3:09.66) medley relays.

Butler advanced to the NCAA Championships for the first time in his career as a senior, helping the Hawkeyes to a 32nd place finish, their third straight top-35 showing. The Wisconsin native swam on the honorable mention All-America 200 and 400-medley relays. Butler ends his career with four school records, posting the top times in the 200 back (1:43.59), 100 butterfly (47.05) and the two medley relays.

Boschult was a one-man team for the Hawkeye divers in 2012-13. The Omaha, Neb., native improved throughout the season en route to posting NCAA Zone qualifying scores in all three diving events. Boschult finished with season bests of 325.13 (1-meter), 341.78 (3-meter) and 315.00 (platform) in his first season with the program.

Seemann was the recipient of the women’s MVP honor after leading the team in a pair of events and being the highest-scoring Hawkeye at the 2013 Big Ten Championships. The Arizona transfer broke a school record in the 200-backstroke (1:56.49) at the Big Tens, and she also paced the team in the 400-IM (4:15.00), an NCAA “B” time.

Grilli earned the Nancilea Underwood Award after posting the team’s highest finish at the NCAA Zone qualifier. The Burr Ridge, Ill., native tallied an 11th-place finish in the 1-meter competition, finishing with 537.80 points. Grilli also paced the team in the 3-meter with a collegiate-best score of 354.10.

Senior Jordan Huff was presented the Irving B. Weber Award, presented to an athlete for their outstanding team leadership. Huff finished his career as a three-time honorable mention All-American, after earning the distinction in the 200 and 400-medley relays in 2013.

Huff was also the recipient of the Wally Ris Memorial Award, handed out to the fastest 100-yard freestyler. The Dubuque, Iowa, native paced the squad with a time of 44.20 seconds. Huff also earned the men’s Strength and Conditioning Award along with Butler.

Butler was also presented the Jim Marshall Award, which is given to a male senior who contributed to the team to the best of his athletic ability.

Senior April Allen received the Allison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award, while also sharing the women’s Strength and Conditioning Award with juniors Emily Hovren and Karolina Wartalowicz.

Men’s Award Winners
Armbruster/Patton MVP: Grant Betulius, Byron Butler
“Lobbey” Lobdell Award: Addison Boschult
Irving B. Weber Award: Jordan Huff
Wally Ris Memorial Award: Jordan Huff
Jim Marshall Award: Byron Butler
Strength and Conditioning Awards: Jordan Huff, Byron Butler

Women’s Award Winners
Women’s MVP: Lindsay Seemann
Nancilea Underwood Award: Abby Grilli
Allison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award: April Allen
Strength and Conditioning Awards: Emily Hovren, Karolina Wartalowicz, April Allen