23 Hawkeyes Qualify for NCAA Championships

May 17, 2013

NCAA Championships Information

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The NCAA announced today that 23 student-athletes from the University of Iowa have qualified for the 2013 NCAA Track and Field Outdoor Championships. The NCAA first round will be held May 23-25 in Austin, Texas, at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

“We are very proud of the Iowa student-athletes who qualified for this competition, as it requires a performance that ranks amongst the Division I elite,” said head coach Layne Anderson. “It is a well-rounded group with student-athletes in all event groups, further illustrating the comprehensive nature of our program.”

The men’s team is represented by a total of 16 qualifiers, made up of 13 student-athletes competing in 15 individual events and one relay. The men are seeded 10th or higher in seven events, including the 400-meter relay, where the reigning conference champions earned the No. 4 seed.

Justin Austin, the Big Ten Track Athlete of Year, earned a pair of top 10 seeds. Austin enters the 100 meters as the No. 8 seed, and the 200 meters as the No. 7 seed.

Ten Hawkeye women qualified for 10 individual events, led by Majesty Tutson and Khanishah Williams. Tutson, the school record holder in the discus, earned the event’s No. 7 seed. Williams earned the No. 7 seed in the high jump. Three Hawkeyes – Jasmine Simpson, Ashlyn Gulvas and Annemie Smith – qualified in the hammer throw.

Lake Kwaza makes her NCAA debut in the 100 meters May 23-25 in Austin, Texas.

“It may very well be one of the more competitive groups we have qualified relative to previous years,” added Anderson. “We have a number of the student-athletes ranked high and positioned well with regard to qualifying on to the semifinal and final round in Eugene.”

The top 12 individuals or relays in each event from each preliminary site (East and West) will move on to the NCAA Championships final round in Eugene, Ore., on June 5-8.

Women’s 100 meters
30.>Lake Kwaza 11.56

Men’s 100 meters
8. Justin Austin 10.22
19. Josh Larney 10.39

Men’s 110-meter hurdles
9. Jordan Mullen 13.76

Men’s 200 meters
7. Justin Austin 20.54

Women’s 400-meter hurdles
42. MonTayla Holder 59.90

Men’s 400-meter hurdles
10. Ethan Holmes 50.67
15. Keaton Rickels 51.16

Women’s 800 meters
39. Adrianna Alexia 2:08.61
46. Kaitlyn Nelson 2:09.19

Men’s 800 meters
37. Ryan Weir 1:50.01

Women’s 5,000 meters
22. Mareike Schrulle 16:12.66

Men’s 5,000 meters
42. Kevin Lewis 14:08.04

Women’s high jump
7. Khanishah Williams 5-11 1/4 (1.81m)

Women’s discus
7. Majesty Tutson 181-1 (55.19m)

Men’s discus
5. Gabe Hull 196-2 (59.80m)

Women’s hammer
22. Jasmine Simpson 197-7 (60.23m)
33. Ashlyn Gulvas 189-6 (57.76m)
38. Annemie Smith 188-4 (57.41m)

Men’s hammer
44. Ben Stancombe 193-6 (58.98m)

Men’s pole vault
46. Kyle Reid 16-8 3/4 (5.10m)

Men’s triple jump
29. Klyvens Delaunay 50-6 1/4 (15.40m)

Men’s shot put
38. Gabe Hull 56-9 1-4 (17.30m)

Men’s javelin
9. Matt Byers 234-8 (72.45m)
43. Sam Joens 206-9 63.03m

Men’s 4×100 meter relay
4. IOWA 39.35