Hawkeyes Announce 2013 Hall of Fame Class

May 22, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The National Iowa Varsity Club and the University of Iowa Athletics Department will induct six individuals into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame on Aug. 30, 2013. Five former University of Iowa student-athletes and one former coach make up the 25th Hall of Fame class.

Sam Bailie (gymnastics, 1955-57), Craig Clemons (football, 1969-71), Brad Banks (football, 2001-02), Jennifer Brower-McNutt (cross country, 1988-91; track and field, 1989-92), Franthea Price (basketball, 1987-90) and Diane Thomason (head women’s golf coach, 1979-2002) represent Iowa’s newest group of Hall of Fame inductees.

The six inductees were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye student-athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the UI Athletics Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least 10 years and coaches/administrators at least five years prior to their selection.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony banquet/dinner will be held Friday, Aug. 30, 2013, at 6:30 p.m. (CT) inside the Grand Coral Ballroom at the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Convention Center. A reception will precede the dinner beginning at 5:30 p.m. (CT).

The induction banquet/dinner is open to the public. Tickets may be purchased for $35 by sending your name and check to the National Iowa Varsity Club, ATTN: HoF Banquet, University of Iowa, N409 CHA, Iowa City, IA, 52242 by Friday, Aug. 23rd, For more information please call the Varsity Club office at (319) 335-9438.

Heritage Era – Athletes

Sam Bailie — Bailie was a three-time letterwinner in gymnastics from 1955-57. He was a 12-time NCAA All-American, the 1955 AAU flying rings champion, and won the Big Ten title in the high bar (1955), flying rings (1957), and pommel horse (1956-57). He went on to coach the Hawkeyes from 1966-68, leading the men’s gymnastics team to two Big Ten titles.

Craig Clemons — Clemons earned three varsity letters in football from 1969-71, earning second team All-Big Ten honors in 1969-70. In 1971, Clemons was named team captain, team MVP, first team All-Big Ten, and first team All-America before being drafted by the Chicago Bears in the first round of the 1972 NFL Draft.

Modern Era – Athletes

Brad Banks — Banks was a letterwinner for the Iowa football team in 2001-02. During his senior season, he was named first team All-Big Ten, Big Ten MVP, and Offensive Player of the Year, as well as second team All-America. He won the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s premier quarterback, and was named the AP National Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy runner-up.

Jennifer Brower-McNutt — Brower-McNutt was a four-year letterwinner in track and cross country from 1988-92. During that time, she captured two All-America and two All-Big Ten honors. She was named the State of Iowa’s NCAA Woman of the Year in 1992 after winning the Big Ten 10,000 meter title, and the Big Ten Medal of Honor. She set the school record in the 10,000 meters and participated in the 1992 U.S. Olympic Trials.

Franthea Price — Price earned four varsity letters between 1987-90. She began her career as the 1987 Big Ten Freshman of the Year and went on to earn first team All-Big Ten honors in 1988 and 1990, and second team All-Big Ten honors in 1989. She capped her career at Iowa by being named the 1990 Big Ten Player of the Year and a Kodak First-Team All-American.


Diane Thomason — Thomason coached the women’s golf team from 1975-2002. She coached seven All-Big Ten selections and led the Hawkeyes to their first Big Ten title in 1991. Her coaching honors include 1990 and 1991 Big Ten Coach of the Year, 1990 National Golf Coaches Association Coach of the Year, and 1985 LPGA National Coach of the Year. She was inducted in to the National Golf Coaches Associations Hall of Fame in 1995, and continues to lead the USA World University Championships teams, a position she assumed in 1986.