Hawkeyes Announce 2013-2014 Team Captains

Oct. 8, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa track and field program announced today that six student-athletes — MonTayla Holder, Ethan Holmes, Shannon Maser, Tevin-Cee Mincy, Kyle Reid and Jasmine Simpson — have been elected team captains by their coaches and peers.

“This is a great group that has reached significant achievements on the track,” said UI director of track and field Larry Wieczorek. “It’s a group that includes school record holders, Big Ten champions, and All-Americans, but it’s also a group that displays great leadership in life and has earned the respect of their teammates.”

The Hawkeyes open the season at their annual intrasquad meet Dec. 7 at the UI Rec Building. The indoor schedule includes a pair of home dates – Jan. 18 Iowa Open, and Feb. 21 Iowa Invite – before championship season begins Feb. 28 in Geneva, Ohio, at the Big Ten Championships.

The outdoor season opens March 28 at the Arizona State Invitational. The Drake Relays are April 24-26 in Des Moines, Iowa, and the 15th annual Musco Twilight is May 3 in Iowa City, Iowa.

The Big Ten Championships are hosted by Purdue on May 16-18, and the NCAA First Round begins May 29 in Fayetteville, Ark.

Iowa returns 14 NCAA qualifiers from a year ago, including All-Americans Klyvens Delaunay, Ethan Holmes, Gabe Hull and Tevin-Cee Mincy.