Hawkeyes Hold Annual Awards Banquet

Dec. 11, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa track and field program honored its student-athletes at the team’s annual awards banquet on Dec. 7. Multiple student athletes were honored for their accomplishments during the 2013 season.

Justin Austin and Majesty Tutson received the track and field Most Valuable Player award, while junior Kevin Lewis earned the Most Outstanding Cross Country Team Member award for the 2013 cross country season. Klyvens Delaunay and Lake Kwaza each took home the Outstanding Freshman award.

Austin, a Milwaukee, Wis., native, was a two-time outdoor All-American in 2013. He finished sixth in the 200 meters (20.45) and ran second-leg on the sixth-place finishing 400-meter relay (39.77) at the NCAA Championships. Austin was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships and Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year following three first-place finishes at the Big Ten Championships. He won the 100 meters (10.27), 200 meters (20.86), and ran second leg on the 400-meter relay (40.20). Austin currently holds school records in the indoor 60 (6.69) and 200 (20.80), and the outdoor 100 (10.21), 200 (20.31), and 400-meter relay.

Tutson earned honorable mention All-America honors following a 22nd-place finish in the discus (148-3, 45.18m) at the NCAA Championships. The Iowa City, Iowa, native placed second in the discus at the Big Ten Championships (170-8, 52.03m), and claimed the Drake Relays flag when she broke her own school record (181-1; 55.19m).

Lewis, an Ottumwa, Iowa, native, paced the Hawkeyes in every cross country meet this season. The junior earned NCAA All-Region honors following his 15th-place finish at the 2013 NCAA Regional. Lewis’ personal-best 6,000 meters time ties for sixth all-time at Iowa.

Delaunay earned first-team All-America accolades following his eighth-place triple jump finish (52-2 ½; 15.91m) at the NCAA Championships. The Claremont, Calif., native currently ranks second on Iowa’s all-time outdoor triple jump list, and third on the indoor list.

Kwaza led the team in the indoor 60 and outdoor 100 meters in 2013. The Sycamore, Ill., native posted a collegiate best 100 meters time (11.56) to place fifth at the Big Ten Outdoor Championships. That time ranks fourth on Iowa’s all-time list. Her collegiate-best indoor 60 meters time ranks fifth on the all-time list.

Other honors awarded at the banquet include the Inspiration Award (Mareike Schrulle, Jordan Mullen), Most Improved (Josh Larney, Adrianne Alexia), Coaches Award (Gabe Hull, MonTayla Holder), Teammate Award (Keaton Rickels, Raven Moore), Keatinge/Cretzmeyer Award (Tevin-Cee Mincy, Jasmine Simpson), and the Silver Hawk Award (Ethan Holmes, Ashlyn Gulvas).

The Hawkeyes open the 2014 season Jan. 18 hosting the Big Four Classic.

Outstanding Freshman: Klyvens Delaunay and Lake Kwaza
Inspiration Award: Mareike Schrulle and Jordan Mullen
Most Improved:Josh Larney and Adrianne Alexia
Coaches Award: Gabe Hull and MonTayla Holder
Teammate Award:Keaton Rickels and Raven Moore
Keatinge/Cretzmeyer Award: Tevin-Cee Mincy and Jasmine Simpson
Silver Hawk:Ethan Holmes and Ashlyn Gulvas
Most Outstanding XC team member:Kevin Lewis
Most Valuable in Track and Field:Justin Austin and Majesty Tutson