Hawkeyes Set for Big Ten Championships

Feb. 17, 2014

Read the February issue of Hawk Talk Monthly
2013-14 Iowa Swimming & Diving Media Guide
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly iOS app
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly android app
Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone app!
Download your Iowa Hawkeye Android app!
Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
24 Hawkeyes to Watch

=”https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/a%3E%3Cahref=”http: twitter.com/theiowahawkeyes”=”” target=”_new”>

The University Iowa women’s swimming and diving team will compete at the 2014 Big Ten Championships, Wednesday through Saturday at the University Aquatics Center in Minneapolis. The competition begins at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on Wednesday, Feb. 19, and follows with three days of non-stop action. Swimming finals will be held at 6:30 p.m. on all four days, while preliminaries will begin at 11 a.m. on Feb. 20-22. Diving preliminaries will begin at 1 p.m. on Feb. 20-22 and the finals will take place later each day. All-session tickets are $40 for adults and $25 for students and youth. Single session tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for students and youth. All seats are general admission. Tickets are on sale now at MyGopherSports.com or over the phone at 1-800-846-7437.

The Hawkeyes have posted eight NCAA `B’ cut times on the season, with seven of the eight times coming at the Hawkeye Invitational. leads the way with three `B’ cut times on the year (50-free, 100-free, 100-breast). Joining Kabacinski is (100-back and 200-back), (100-breast and 200-breast), and (200-breast).

Sophomore swam to a school record in the 100 freestyle during the final day of the annual Hawkeye Invitational. During the preliminaries of the event, Kabacinski set the record with a time of 49.48. Her time is the first sub-50 time in program history.

With a 123-83 vicotry over Western Illinois, the women’s swimming and diving program finished off the 2013-14 campaign with a 9-5 record. The nine dual wins this season rank s the second-most under head coach Marc Long, and the second most victories for the program since 1984-85 (13-2).

The Hawkeyes placed 10th overall with 113 points at the 2013 Big Ten Championships in Minneapolis. Iowa opened the Big Ten Championships by breaking two school records on the first day of competition. Heather Arseth, and , and swam to a school record in the 200-medley realy final, touching out in 1:40.97. The Hawkeyes then reset the 800-freestyle relay record when , Kabacinski, and swam to a time of 7:14.99 to finish eighth in the event. Day two saw one record fall, as Hovren broke the school’s top time in the 200-IM. Hovren, swimming in the `B’ final of the 200-IM, finished in 2:00.42. On the final day of compeition, Seemann made her mark in the record books again, this time in the 200 backstroke. During the preliminary round of the event, Seemann touched out in 1:56.49 to break the school record. Kabacinski, Arseth, Tuchscherer, and posted the second-fastest time in the 200 freestyle relay, touching out in 1:31.73. Seemann also posted a time that ranks second in school history when finished in 4:45.86 in the prelims of the 500-free. She also recorded the second-fastest time in the 400 IM (4:15.00). Seemann was named the team’s MVP, while redshirt sophomore was named the Nancilea Underwood Diving MVP. Hovren and Wartalowicz were awarded the team’s strength and conditioning achievement.

Minnesota will stream all of the 2014 Big Ten Championships at gophersports.com. Saturday evening will be taped by the Big Ten Netowrk to be aired at a later date.

The Hawkeye women have crowned 13 Big Ten champions in the program’s 40-year history. Iowa’s highest finish at the Big Ten Championships came in 1986 when the team tied for second after crowning eight champions. Nancy Vaccaro won Iowa’s first title in the 50 fly in 1983. Iowa’s last Big Ten champion was Melissa Loehndorf in the 200 fly in 2001. Kelly Johnson was named Big Ten Diver of the Year in 1986, and former diving coach Bob Rydze was named Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year four times (1985, 1986, 1995, 2011). Kerry Stewart (1983), Jennifer Skolaski (2005) and Nancilea Underwood (2006) are Iowa’s Big Ten Medal of Honor winners for women’s swimming and diving.

Since its first season in 1975, the Hawkeye women’s swimming and diving team has posted 113 NCAA qualifiers, 43 All-Americans and 16 Big Ten Champions. The Hawkeyes have a dual meet record of 215-173-2 in their 40-year history.

Marc Long is in his 10th season as head coach for the University of Iowa swimming team. It’s his eighth as head coach of the combined program. During his tenure as head coach of both programs, 75 school records have fallen and 112 Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Todd Waikel is in his second season as the head diving coach of the men’s and women’s diving program. Waikel has coached five Big Ten Diver of the Week selections during his first season-and-a-half as a Hawkeye, and has turned Deidre Freeman into a major player on the national diving scene.

The University Aquatic Center has hosted nine Big Ten Championships, six NCAA Championships, and many national and international competitions. The facility that is estimated to be two acres in size, was built in 1990 and is located east of Cookie Hall on the Minneapolis campus. The Aquatics Center is home to the Dorothy L. Sheppard Pool. The 50-meter competition pool measures eight lanes wide and eight feet deep. The facility includes a diving well with one and three-meter boards, and 1, 5, 7.5, and 10-meter diving platforms. Seating includes 1,346 permanent seats and 1,200 temporary bleachers.

Redshirt juniors and , sophomore , and freshmen and will travel back to Minneapolis for the NCAA Zone D Diving meet on March 10-12.