Hawkeyes Set for Big Ten Championships

Feb. 24, 2014

Read the February issue of Hawk Talk Monthly

2013-14 Iowa Swimming & Diving Media Guide
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly iOS app
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly android app
Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone app!
Download your Iowa Hawkeye Android app!
Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
24 Hawkeyes to Watch

=”https://hawkeyesports.com/http:%3E%3C/a%3E%3Cahref=”http: twitter.com/theiowahawkeyes”=”” target=”_new”>

The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team will compete at the 2014 Big Ten Championships in Ann Arbor, Mich., Wednesday through Saturday at the Canham Natatorium.

The competition begins at 5:30 p.m. (CT) on Wednesday, Feb. 26, and then follows three days of non-stop action. Swimming finals will be held at 5:30 p.m. on all four days, while preliminaries will begin at 10 a.m. on Feb. 28-March 1. Diving preliminaries will begin at 12 p.m. on Feb. 27-March 1 and the finals will take place later each day.

All-session tickets are $40 for adults, and single session tickets are $8 for adults and $5 youth. Single session tickets may be purchased on the day of the event at the Canham Natatorium. To order tickets in advance call (866) 296-MTIX or online at MGoBlue.com/tickets.

The Hawkeyes finished ninth with 245 points at the 2013 Big Ten Championships in Bloomington, Ind. Michigan won the team title with 899 points. The Hawkeyes swam to eight school records during the four days of competition.

Iowa opened the championships with three-straight school records in relay events. Iowa started day one with school records in both the 200-medley relay and 800 -freestyle relay. , , Byron Butler and Jordan Huff finished fifth in the 200 medley, touching out in 1:25.82. Huff, , , and Betulius followed with a sixth-place, school record performance, in the 800 free realy, finishing in 6:26.79.

Day two saw the third straight relay record set when Betulius, , Butler and Huff swam to a third place finish in 400 medley realy, touching out in 3:10.18. The time marked a new program best for the team, and both the 200 and 400 medley times were NCAA `A’ cut times.

The Hawkeyes concluded the championships with five consecutive individual records. Byron Butler posted school records in both the 100 fly (47.05) and 200 back (1:43.59), swam to program-bests in the 100 (53.59) and 200 breast (1:56.54), and clocked the other school record with a sixth place finish in the 100 back, touching out in 46.70.

The Big Ten Digital Network will stream the first six sessions, Wednesday evening through Saturday morning, of the Big Ten Championships for a fee. Fans with a Big Ten Network subscription though their cable provider can watch the final session of the meet — Saturday night — live online via BTN2Go. The finals will also appear on the Big Ten Network Sunday, March 2 on a tape-delay.

The Hawkeyes picked up three weekly Big Ten Conference accolades this season. Freshman was named the Freshman of the Week after a season-opening performance against defending national champion Michigan. Sophomore picked up a Swimmer of the Week nod after posting a pair of `B’ cut times in a dual meet against No. 7 Minnesota. Sophomore earned the final weekly honor following a record-setting performance at the Hawkeye Invitational. Boschult broke the school record, and claimed the top spot, in the platform event, with an NCAA Zone qualifing mark.

Iowa has won three Big Ten team titles in school history (1936, 1981, 1982), and crowned 105 individual conference champions (76 in individual events, 23 in relays and eight in diving).

Three Hawkeyes have earned Swimmer of the Championships honors – Artur Wojdat (1991, 1992), Rafal Szukala (1994) and Ales Abersek (2000). Wojdat was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Year three times (1990, 1991, 1992), while former Hawkeye John Davey earned the honor twice (1987, 1988). Former diving coach Bob Rydze was the Big Ten diving coach of the year three times (1985, 1986 and 1995).

Two Hawkeye divers top the list of all-time Big Ten top performers. Timo Klami scored a 625.60 on one-meter (11 dives) in 2003, while Randy Abelman posted a 448.20 on three-meter (6 dives) in 1981.

Iowa won its last Big Ten individual swimming titles in 2000 when Ales Abersek took the 100 (47.68) and 200 fly (1:44.93) crowns and Jay Glenn won the 200 free (1:36.84). Iowa’s last Big Ten diving champion was Klami on three-meter (596.40) in 2003. Iowa won two relays in 2012 — the 200 and 400 free relays. Ryan Phelan, Duncan Partridge, and Paul Gordon won the 200-free in 1:17.61, while Partridge, Phelan, Jordan Huff and Gordon won the 400-free in 2:52.53.

Marc Long is in his 10th season as head coach for the University of Iowa swimming team. It’s his ninth as head coach of the combined program.During his tenure as head coach of both programs, 75 school records have fallen and 112 Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Todd Waikel is in his second season as the head diving coach of the men’s and women’s diving program. Waikel has coached five Big Ten Diver of the Week selections during his first season-and-a-half as a Hawkeye, and has turned Deidre Freeman into a major player on the national diving scene.

Since 1917, the University of Iowa swimming and diving program has been rich in tradition. Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level, and competed at the first NCAA Championship. From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top 10 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten champions. In its 93-year history, the Iowa men’s team has produced 17 Olympians, 26 NCAA champions and 382 All-Americans.

Freshmen and along with sophomore will travel to Minneapolis for the NCAA Zone D Diving meet on March 10-12.