Marciniak Swims to School Record at B1G Championships

Feb. 28, 2014

Men’s Swimming and Diving B1G Championships Day 3 Read the February issue of Hawk Talk Monthly

2013-14 Iowa Swimming & Diving Media Guide
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly iOS app
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly android app
Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone app!
Download your Iowa Hawkeye Android app!
Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
24 Hawkeyes to Watch

=””http:”=”” target=”_new”>

Ann Arbor, Mich. — Senior bested his previous school record by one one-hundredth of a second Friday night, as the Hawkeyes had their best showing at the Big Ten Championships during the final. Iowa currently sits in eighth with 130 points, while host Michigan leads the pack with 599 points.

During the morning prelims of the 100 breaststroke, Marciniak qualified for the `A’ final of the event, touching out in 53.58. The time is a new school record, besting Marciniak’s previous record of 53.59, set last season.

In the finals, Marciniak would go on to place seventh, finishing in 53.89, while sophomore came in eighth, touching the wall in 54.24. Freshman placed 17th (54.12) with his time being the sixth-fastest in program history. All three Hawkeyes posted times that qualified for NCAA `B’ cut consideration.

Iowa also received scoring efforts from senior and junior in the 100 backstroke. Rhoads, swimming in the `A’ final, touched out in 46.79 to take sixth in the event. His prelim time of 46.53 improves upon his career-best time of 46.99, which currently ranks second all-time. The school record holder in the event, Betulius, finished in 14th place (48.19), while swimming in the `B’ final.

Rhoads also placed himself in the top-10 in the 100 butterfly during morning qualifications. Rhoads placed himself into the `B’ final of the event when he finished in 48.13, a time that ranks sixth all-time in program history. Rhoads would go on to finish 16th, touching out in 48.78.

Iowa concludes the 2014 Big Ten Championships on Saturday with prelims beginning at 11 a.m. (CT) and finals at 6:30 p.m.