Tim Dwight Listed on Hall of Fame Ballot

March 6, 2014

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Former University of Iowa All-American Tim Dwight is listed on the 2014 Football Bowl Subdivision ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame, it was announced Thursday by the National Football Foundation.

Dwight, one of 75 former players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision on the ballot, finished seventh on the Heisman Trophy ballot and earned consensus first-team All-America honors by the Associated Press, The Sporting News, Football Writers Association and Football Coaches Association in 1997. He was also a first-team All-America honoree by the Football Writers Association in 1996.

More than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers will take part in the voting process. The NFF Honors Court, chaired by Gene Corrigan, a former ACC Commissioner and NCAA president, makes the final selections. The 2014 class will be announced in May, and the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner will be held Dec. 9 in New York City.

Dwight lettered for the Hawkeyes from 1994-97, playing for legendary UI head coach Hayden Fry. The kick returner/wide receiver played in three bowl games, leading Iowa to wins in the 1995 Sun Bowl and the 1996 Alamo Bowl. The Hawkeyes also played in the 1997 Sun Bowl.

Dwight holds the Iowa records for punt return yards (1,102), punt return touchdowns (five), and single-season punt return touchdowns (three). The touchdown totals rank second all-time in the Big Ten Conference, while the punt return yardage ranks fourth.

Dwight is also tied for second in career receiving touchdowns (21), third in receiving yards (2,271) and all-purpose yards (4,890), tied for fourth in touchdowns (32), and 10th in scoring (192).

The Iowa City, Iowa, native was drafted in the fourth round of the 1998 NFL Draft by the Atlanta Falcons. In Super Bowl XXXIII, Dwight returned five kickoffs, including one for 94 yards and a touchdown. His 42.0 yard return average was a Super Bowl record. Dwight played 10 seasons in the NFL for Atlanta, San Diego, New England, New York Jets and Oakland.

Dwight was inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame in 2011.

Linebacker Larry Station, inducted in 2009, is the most recent Hawkeye inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Former UI All-American Andre Tippett was included on the ballot for a first time in 2013.