ISS Wraps Up Year at Banquet

April 20, 2014

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The 2013-14 University of Iowa spirit squads (ISS) banquet took place on Sunday, April 13, at the Marriott Hotel and Convention Center in Coralville.

Awards were presented for not only individual squad recognition, but also for academics and public relations work. More than half of the team members hold a 3.25 or greater cumulative grade point average and many of those are on the Dean’s List.

Public relations awards were given for hours spent at events outside of games and practice. Nineteen members had more than 100 hours and four additional members had more than 200 hours of public relations time. One ISS squad member had 350+ hours.

This was also an opportunity to recognize the seniors from the 2013-14 season. The following were seniors on the ISS this past year: Oz Agbese, Alex Andre, Patrick Davis, Madeline Gage, Katie Jarrett, Lindsey Knott, John Lodewyck, Sean Olsen, Callie Sorteberg and Tommy Wisniewski.

“This was a strong group of seniors,” said Gregg Niemiec, UI spirit coordinator. “They were great leaders for their teams and the crowd and were also very skilled. They will be greatly missed next year.

“This banquet is a great way to recognize all the hard work the Iowa spirit squad members put into their season. We start in April and go until the following April, it is a long season. The student athletes we have are well-rounded, academically, skill-wise, communication-wise, and stay on top of everything. They’re also Hawkeyes through and through.”

Most Improved — Christy Hunt
Hawkeye Pride — Lindsey Knott
Donna Mueller Extra Effort Award — Madeline Gage
Dancer of the year — Callie Sorteberg

Rookie of the Year — Alexa Oechsle
Most Improved Male — Erik Metcalf
Most Improved Female — Danae Shemansky
Dedication — Kaitlyn Dornbier
Reliability — Kaitlyn Dornbier
Skills — Kelly Tocki
Spirit — Oz Agbese
Cheerleader of the Year — Oz Agbese

Rookie of the Year — Austin Tasler
Leadership — Javier Perez
Veteran of the Year — Nathan Volk
Mascot of the Year — Tommy Wisniewski

The Iowa spirit squads will hold tryouts for the 2014-15 season on April 25-27.