Logic Named to Lieberman Award Watch List


Feb. 6, 2015


IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior point guard Samantha Logic has been named to the 2015 Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Friday. It marks the second-straight year Logic has been named to the watch list.

The award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. Candidates exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman.


Logic, named preseason All-Big Ten and preseason All-America by ESPN, has been named a 2014-15 `Wade Watch’ candidate, and to the Naismith Trophy Women’s Top 50 Watch List, the John R. Wooden Award Women’s Midseason Top 20 List, and the Dawn Staley Award Watch List. She has also been named a candidate for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® and has been named a Capital One Academic All-District honoree.

Logic, the NCAA’s active career assists leader (787), ranks fifth in assists in Big Ten history. She leads the Big Ten and ranks fifth in the NCAA in the category this season (7.5), while also averaging 11.1 points and 6.8 rebounds per game. Logic is one-of-two players nationally to average at least 11 points, seven assists, and six rebounds per game (Brittany Boyd of California).

Logic is tied for the fifth-most triple-doubles in NCAA history (five), and the most by any player as a member of the Big Ten. Suzie McConnell of Penn State (1985-88) and Louella Tomlinson of St. Mary’s (CA) (2008-11) hold the career record with seven.

As a junior, Logic earned honorable mention All-America honors from the Associated Press and the WBCA. The Racine, Wisconsin, native was a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches, and a first team selection by the media, becoming the 18th Iowa player to garner first-team All-Big Ten honors, marking the most of any Big Ten program.

Logic (5-foot-9) — the 2014 Big Ten leader in assists — was the only player in the nation to average 13 or more points (13.3), six or more rebounds (6.6), and seven or more assists (7.5). She led the Big Ten in league play in assists (8.0) and steals (3.0). Logic was named Big Ten Player of the Week three times, while also being named to the Big Ten Player of the Week Honor Roll four additional times. She was named 1-of-22 watch list finalists for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award (nation’s top point guard).

The two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, who ranked third nationally in assists last season, notched three triple-doubles, becoming the first Big Ten player to record three triple-doubles in a single season. Logic ranked second nationally in triple-doubles; Alyssa Thomas of Maryland had four. Entering the 2013-14 campaign, there had only been 11 seasons in NCAA history in which a player registered three or more triple-doubles.

“Nancy Lieberman exhibited such passion and dedication for the game of basketball. The women on this watch list show many of the same attributes,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This award is our way of recognizing some truly extraordinary point guards in women’s college basketball.”

The Selection Committee for the Nancy Lieberman Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. The list will be narrowed down to fifteen and then a final five by mid-March. The Lieberman Award winner will be announced during the WBCA Award Show in Tampa, Florida, at the Women’s Final Four.

“It’s an honor to have my name associated with this award and some of the best point guards and female athletes at the college level,” Lieberman said. “Whoever walks away with the accolade at the end of the season will be in tremendous company.”

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include Odyssey Sims, Baylor (2014), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga (2011), Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State (2010), Renee Montgomery, Connecticut (2009), Kristi Toliver, Maryland (2008), Lindsey Harding, Duke (2007), Ivory Latta, North Carolina (2006), Temeka Johnson, LSU (2005), Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04), and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).

No. 16 Iowa (18-4, 9-2) returns to action Sunday at Wisconsin at 2 p.m. (CT).

Print Friendly Version