Hawkeyes Set for Big Ten Championships

Feb. 23, 2015

Complete Notes Get Acrobat Reader

This Week
The No. 21 University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team will host the 2015 Big Ten Championships from Feb. 25-28 at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Natatorium (CRWC) in Iowa City.

2013 B1G Championships

Live Results
Fans can follow this week’s action http://www.hawkeyesports.com/livestats/c-swim/, and on the “Meet Mobile” swim meet application on cell phones and tablets. Download the application at this link: http://www.active.com/mobile/meet-mobile-app.

Live Video Streaming
The first three finals sessions will all be streamed live via BTN Plus on BTN2GO. Thursday, Friday, and Saturday’s prelims will be streamed live on Hawkeye All-Access on hawkeyesports.com. Saturday’s finals will NOT be streamed, as BTN will televise Saturday’s finals at 10:30 a.m. (CT) on March 1.

Iowa in Big Ten History
Iowa has won three Big Ten team titles in school history (1936, 1981, 1982), and crowned 105 individual conference champions (76 in individual events, 23 in relays, and eight in diving).

Three Hawkeyes have earned Swimmer of the Championships honors – Artur Wojdat (1991, 1992), Rafal Szukala (1994), and Ales Abersek (2000). Wojdat was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Year three times (1990, 1991, 1992), while former Hawkeye John Davey earned the honor twice (1987, 1988). Former diving coach Bob Rydze was the Big Ten diving Coach of the Year three times (1985, 1986 and 1995).

Two Hawkeye divers top the list of all-time Big Ten top performers. Timo Klami scored a 625.60 on one-meter (11 dives) in 2003, while Randy Abelman posted a 448.20 on three-meter (6 dives) in 1981.

Iowa won its last Big Ten individual swimming titles in 2000 when Ales Abersek took the 100 (47.68) and 200 fly (1:44.93) crowns and Jay Glenn won the 200 free (1:36.84). Iowa’s last Big Ten diving champion was Klami on three-meter (596.40) in 2003. Iowa won two relays in 2012 — the 200 and 400 free relays. Ryan Phelan, Duncan Partridge, Gianni Sesto and Paul Gordon won the 200-free in 1:17.61, while Partridge, Phelan, Jordan Huff and Gordon won the 400-free in 2:52.53.

Looking Ahead
The Hawkeyes return to action Sunday at 10 a.m. (CT), hosting the Big Ten Longcourse Intrasquad at the CRWC.

Scouting the Field
The Hawkeyes join a competitive field that includes six teams in the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) top-25 rankings. Released on Feb. 5, Michigan leads the conference in the No. 6 spot, while Ohio State followed at No. 9, Indiana at No. 15, Minnesota at No. 18, and Wisconsin at No. 23. Purdue also received votes.

In the National Rankings
UI senior Grant Betullius ranks second nationally in the 100 back (45.56) and 13th in the 200 back (1:42.19). Roman Trussov ranks 14th in the 100 breast (52.98) and 19th in the 200 breast (1:55.95). Jerzy Twarowski ranks 12th in the 200 fly (1:44.00) and 13th in the 100 fly (46.70).

Winning Ways
After winning the Hawkeye Invitational on Dec. 7, the Hawkeyes have posted six straight head-to-head wins with triumphs over South Dakota State (126-90), Northwestern (171-129), Notre Dame (195-175), Incarnate Word (299-69), Missouri State (215-153), and Western Illinois (147-47).

Swimming To The Postseason
Eight Hawkeyes — Jerzy Twarowski (2), Roman Trussov (2), Jackson Halsmer (2), David Ernstsson (1), Chris Dawson (3), Grant Betulius (2), Chris Freeman (2), and Andrew Parker (1) — have a combined 15 NCAA `B’ cut times in 2014. Betulius also holds an NCAA `A’ cut time in the 100 back (45.56).

Diving To The Postseason
Three Hawkeyes have posted six NCAA Zone Standard diving scores on the 1-meter, 3-meter, and platform. Brandis Heffner posted qualifying dives on the 1-meter (325.88) and 3-meter (339.00). Addison Boschult posted qualifying dives on the 1-meter (320.35), 3-meter (367.13), and platform (394.35). Matt Mauser also posted a qualifying zone diving score on the 3-meter (332.90).

Betulius Qualifies For Nationals
UI senior Grant Betulius posted an NCAA `A’ cut time of 45.56 in the 100 backstroke to lead off the 400-medley relay on Dec. 5, at the Hawkeye Invite. Betulius, a native of Naperville, Illinois, smashed the previous record, held by Dustin Rhoads (46.33) and topped the pool record of 46.30 that has held since the 2012 Big Ten Championships.

Trussov Leads Breaststrokers
Junior Roman Trussov returns to lead the Iowa breaststrokers in 2014-15. The Kazakhstan native qualified for the NCAA Championships in both the 100 and 200 breaststroke as a freshman. He currently is the Iowa school record holder in the 100 (52.98) and 200 breaststroke (1:55.84).

A Special Year
The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team will host the Big Ten, NCAA Zone Diving, and NCAA Championships as part of its 2014-15 schedule. It is the second time the NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships will be held in Iowa City. The UI hosted the 1927 NCAA Championship at the UI Field House. The 2015 Big Ten Championships will take place Feb. 25-28, while the NCAA Zone D Diving Championships are set for March 9-11. The NCAA Championships will be held March 26-28. All events will be held at the UI Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Pool.

Newcomers Stepping Up
Two freshmen have posted top times for the Hawkeyes in 2014-15. Jerzy Twarowski has posted season bests in the 100 (46.70) and 200 butterfly (1:44.00), and holds the second-best time in the 200 IM (1:51.15). Chris Dawson posted top times in the 500 free (4:28.39),1,000 freestyle (9:22.75), and the 1,650 free (15:28.38) as well as the 400 IM (3:56.72). Garrett Hoce holds the second-best time in the 400 IM (4:01.48). Two of Iowa’s relay events include at least one newcomer as a member of the top quartets.

Iowa Swimming And Diving Tradition
Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level and competed at the first NCAA Championship. From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top 10 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten champions.

Follow The Hawkeyes
Become fans of the official Iowa Swimming and Diving fan page by going to facebook.com/IowaSwimmingandDiving to follow the Hawkeyes on Facebook. Fans can also follow on Twitter: @IowaHawkeyeSwim

Print Friendly Version