Logic Named to Wooden Award's National Ballot


March 9, 2015


LOS ANGELES — The John R. Wooden Award announced the 2015 Women’s National Ballot today, and University of Iowa women’s basketball senior point guard Samantha Logic is 1-of-15 players named to the ballot.

Logic, a unanimous first team All-Big Ten selection for the second-straight year, became the first Hawkeye since Kachine Alexander (2010, 2011) to earn multiple first-team All-Big Ten honors, and the ninth in program history. The team co-captain has been honored by the Big Ten in all four years, earning third team honors as a sophomore, while being named to the All-Freshman Team in 2012.


Logic, named preseason All-Big Ten and preseason All-America by ESPN, has been named a 2014-15 `Wade Watch’ candidate, a Nancy Lieberman Award finalist, to the Naismith Trophy Women’s Midseason 30 List, and the Dawn Staley Award Watch List. She has also been named a finalist for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® and a Capital One Academic All-American. On March 2, she was named Big Ten Player of the Week and ESPN’s National Player of the Week.

Logic (5-foot-9) is the only player in NCAA history to accumulate at least 1,400 career points, 800 rebounds, 800 assists, and 200 steals.

Logic, the NCAA’s active career assists leader (869), ranks third in assists in Big Ten history and 14th in NCAA history. She leads the Big Ten and ranks third in the NCAA in the category this season (8.0), while also averaging 13.5 points and 6.8 rebounds per game. Logic, the Big Ten’s assists leader the last three years, is one-of-two players nationally to average at least 11 points, seven assists, and six rebounds per game (Brittany Boyd of California).

Logic is tied for the fifth-most triple-doubles in NCAA history (five), and the most by any player as a member of the Big Ten. Suzie McConnell of Penn State (1985-88) and Louella Tomlinson of St. Mary’s (CA) (2008-11) hold the career record with seven.

As a junior, Logic earned honorable mention All-America honors from the Associated Press and the WBCA. The Racine, Wisconsin, native was a unanimous first team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches, and a first team selection by the media, becoming the 18th Iowa player to garner first-team All-Big Ten honors, marking the most of any Big Ten program.

Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the ballot consists of 15 student-athletes who are eligible for college basketball’s most prestigious honor. All balloted players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

Voting begins March 16, and voters, consisting of hundreds of members of the national women’s college basketball media, may take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. Voting ends March 24. The Wooden Award All-American Team, consisting of the nation’s top five players, will be announced the week of the Final Four. The 39th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor and reveal the Men’s and Women’s Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, which in 2015 will go to San Diego State Head Men’s Basketball Coach Steve Fisher. This announcement of the winners will be televised live on ESPN2 from Club Nokia in Los Angeles at 5 p.m. on Friday, April 10, as part of the first ever College Basketball Awards Show Presented by Wendy’s.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Candace Parker (’07 and ’08), Kevin Durant (’09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09 and `11). Stanford’s Chiney Ogwumike won the 2014 Wooden Award.

15th-ranked Iowa (24-7, 14-4) is set to make its eighth-straight NCAA Tournament appearance. The selection show is March 16 at 6 p.m. (CT).

Print Friendly Version