Hawkeyes Announce 2014-15 Award Winners


April 27, 2015

  • Read the latest issue of Hawk Talk Monthly
  • Download your Hawk Talk Monthly iOS app
  • Download your Hawk Talk Monthly android app
  • Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone/iPad app
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye android app
  • 24 Hawkeyes to Watch


    IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa swimming and diving team handed out its annual team awards on April 26, inside the Feller Club Room in Carver Hawkeye Arena.


    Senior Grant Betulius and junior Roman Trussov shared the men’s Armbruster/Patton Most Valuable Player Award, while junior Addison Boschult took home the “Lobby” Lobdell Diving Award, given to the top male diver, for the third year in a row.

    On the women’s side, senior Becky Stoughton was the recipient of the Most Valuable Player Award, while Joelle Christy garnered the team’s Nancilea Underwood Diving MVP Award.

    Betulius and Trussov garner a split of the men’s MVP award after qualifying for the NCAA Championships both as individuals and as relay members. The duo swam on the men’s 2015 NCAA-qualifying 200 medley (18th-place) and 400 medley relays (19th-place).

    Individually, Betulius qualified in the 100 back (27th) and 200 back (41st) after setting UI school records in both events. Trussov also participated in the 100 breast (24th) and 200 breast (28th) after rewriting the UI record books in both events earlier in the regular season.

    Boschult was awarded the MVP after earning honorable mention All-American honors on the platform following a top-10 finish at the 2015 NCAA Championships. The Omaha, Nebraska, native finished ninth overall, diving to a score of 386.50.

    Stoughton received the top recognition for the women after swimming to a title in the 1,650 free at the Big Ten Championships and earning honorable mention All-America honors in two events.

    Christy was the recipient of the diving MVP following a 41st-place finish off the 1-meter (253.55) at the 2015 NCAA Championships and an eighth-place (294.10) showing at the 2015 NCAA Zone D Diving Championships. She led the team on 1-meter (316.50) and ranked third on the 3-meter (317.48) throughout the season.

    Jackson Halsmer garnered the Wally Ris Memorial Award for swimming the fastest 100-freestyle time throughout the course of the season. The Byron, Illinois, native led the team with a top time of 44.58.

    Senior Chris Freeman earned the Jim Marshall Award, handed out to a male senior who contributed to the team to the best of his athletic ability. Freeman led the Hawkeyes in the 200 free (1:36.94) and 200 IM (1:49.03), ranked second in the 100 back (47.68), 100 fly (47.29), and 200 fly (1:50.18), and third in the 200 back (1:45.57).

    Junior Colleen Champa gathered the team’s Pennington/Strength of Character Award, and Brandon Farnum received the men’s Irving B. Weber Leadership Award.

    Seniors Mike Vinyard and Elaine Boosalis were recipients of the Robert F. Ray Faculty Award, while senior Pamela Breitrick and junior Tyler Nichols took home the Strength and Conditioning Achievement Award.

    Men’s Award Winners:
    Armbruster/Patton MVP Award: Roman Trussov, Grant Betulius
    Strength & Conditioning Achievement Award: Tyler Nichols
    Jim Marshall Award: Chris Freeman
    Irving B. Weber Leadership Award: Brandon Farnum
    “Lobby” Lobdell Diving Award: Addison Boschult
    Wally Ris Memorial Award: Jackson Hallsmer

    Women’s Award Winners:
    Women’s MVP Award: Becky Stoughton
    Strength & Conditioning Achievement Award: Pam Breitrick
    Pennington/Strength of Character Award: Colleen Champa
    Nancilea Underwood MVP Diving Award: Joelle Christy
    Robert F Ray Faculty Award: Mike Vineyard and Elaine Boosalis

Print Friendly Version