I-Club Announces 2015 Award Winners

Nov. 17, 2015


IOWA CITY, Iowa — The National I-Club has dozens of local I-Club chapters, who form a strong presence within their communities to gather Hawkeyes together and to serve as a united voice of support for Iowa athletics across the state and beyond. Each year the National I-Club presents a slate of awards to a special few of the many outstanding contributors and volunteers.


Cathy Zaharis of Iowa City is the 2015 recipient of the prestigious Hawk of the Year Award which is presented annually to an individual or couple who has exhibited an exceptional level of loyalty, enthusiasm, and generosity to Iowa athletics. Cathy, the Business Director of the Finance Career Academy in the MBA program, has been a longtime supporter of the University of Iowa and Hawkeye athletics. She is a member of the National I-Club Board, UI Foundation Board of Directors, the Vice Chair of the University of Iowa Medical Center Council, and serves on the Presidential Committee on Athletics.

This year’s recipient of the I-Club of the Year Award is Carroll Area I-Club in western Iowa for their exceptional level of support of the Hawkeyes and the extraordinary level of conduct in all of their local events. In addition to spreading the message of the Iowa Hawkeyes throughout their community, the Carroll Area I-Club has also contributed to the recent Football Legacy Campaign, James M. Hoak Golf Complex, and Carver-Hawkeye Arena Campaign enhancements.

Georgia Johnson of Monticello is the 2015 recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award. Georgia has been a tireless supporter of Hawkeye athletics for many years, organizing bus trips for Iowa fans to away women’s basketball games. In addition, she and her husband Bud are Presidents Club and I-Club members and have endowed multiple athletic scholarships.

Des Moines area chapter, the Polk County I-Club, received the 2015 Special Commendation Award for their extra efforts they put forth each year for the annual Celebrity Golf Outing. In addition to their golf outing, Polk County I-Club hosts several other events throughout the year maintaining a strong Hawkeye presence in the Des Moines and surrounding communities. They also generously contributed to our capital campaign projects: Football Legacy Campaign, James M. Hoak Golf Complex, and Carver-Hawkeye Arena Campaign enhancements.

The 2015 I-Club award winners will be recognized on field at halftime of the Iowa vs. Purdue football game on Saturday, November 21.

The I-Club is the University of Iowa’s fundraising program for intercollegiate athletics. Gifts to the I-Club help UI Athletics generate over $17 million annually which is used to fund all expenses in support of Hawkeye student-athletes. The I-Club has nearly 18,000 members in 99 Iowa counties and 49 states. For more details visit jointheiclub.com or find the National I-Club on Facebook and Twitter (@jointheiclub).

Print Friendly Version