Ihm Earns Pair of B1G Honors

April 26, 2016

fbgold.jpg twitgold222-bluebird.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack-whitebird.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior Amy Ihm has been named second team All-Big Ten, the conference office announced Tuesday. The honor marks the first of Ihm’s career and the program’s first All-Big Ten selection since Stacey Bergman (1998). Ihm is the sixth Hawkeye in program history to collect all-conference honors.


“It has been so exciting for her to finish last week by being named to the All-Championship team and then get second team All-Big Ten,” said UI head Coach Megan Menzel. “It has been a Cinderella story this spring. We have just kept things rolling and have had some great momentum. I hope she has a great finish to her career and that it sparks the rest of our team. This says a lot about where our program is heading and I am very excited.”

In addition to an All-Big Ten selection, Ihm was honored with the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The Sportsmanship Award honors student-athletes who display sportsmanship and ethical behavior, are in good academic standing and demonstrate good citizenship outside of athletics.

“If you were to tell me that I would be All-Big Ten my senior year, I probably would have told you that you were crazy,” said Ihm. “It’s really just a huge honor, and I’m pretty excited. I don’t know if it’s really sunk in yet.”

Ihm paced the Hawkeyes at the Big Ten Championship on April 24. The senior carded 41 bogey-free holes to close the tournament and tied for fourth place overall — earning her a spot on the All-Big Ten Championship Team. The Peosta, Iowa, native’s career-low three-round total of 211 (-5) broke Iowa’s program record of 212 (-4) for individual 54-hole performance.

This season, Ihm led the Hawkeye squad with seven top 10 finishes in 10 tournaments. The Peosta, Iowa, native tallied two Big Ten Golfer of the Week honors — the first and second honors of her career — on September 28-29 and on March 14-15. Ihm was also selected to compete in the NCAA Bryan Regional on May 5-7, making her the first UI women’s golfer to compete in NCAA postseason competition since 1990 and the second individual qualifier in program history.

First Team
Sarah Burnham, Michigan State
Sarah Cho, Northwestern
Hannah Kim, Northwestern
Kacie Komoto, Northwestern
Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Katja Pogacar, Ohio State
Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State
August Kim, Purdue

Second Team
Bing Singhsumalee, Illinois
Camille Chevalier, Indiana
Amy Ihm, Iowa
Grace Choi, Michigan
Katie Sharp, Michigan State
Janet Mao, Northwestern
Anna Appert Lund, Purdue
Brooke Ferrell, Wisconsin

Print Friendly Version