Guillory Headlines All-B1G Honorees

Jan. 6, 2016

fbgold.jpg twit22gold.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack.jpg UIMagIcon.jpgyoutube_gold.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The Big Ten Conference announced Tuesday that University of Iowa freshman Briana Guillory was named Big Ten Track and Field Freshman of the Year. The Antioch, California, native won a pair of gold medals at the Big Ten Championships last weekend, first in the open 200 meters and later as a member of the conference and school record-setting 1,600-meter relay.

Guillory is the first Hawkeye to earn Freshman of the Year honors since Peaches Roach in 2004.

Guillory was also one of 10 Hawkeyes named to an All-Big Ten team. She is joined on the first team by relay members Alexis Hernandez, MonTayla Holder, and Elexis Guster. The Iowa men’s 400-meter relay — including 110-meter hurdle champion Aaron Mallett, Vinnie Saucer, Jr., Christian Brissett, and James Harrington — also earned first team honors. They are joined by men’s high jump champion Kevin Spejcher.

Redshirt freshman Reno Tuufuli placed second in men’s discus to earn second team all-conference honors.

The Big Ten also named Heaven Chandler and Kerry Dean, Jr. recipients of Iowa’s 2016 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

The Hawkeyes return to action May 28-30 at the NCAA West Regional in Lawrence, Kansas. The NCAA qualifiers will be announced Thursday, May 19.

Print Friendly Version