Iowa Swimming & Diving Hands Out Team Awards

May 19, 2016


IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa swimming and diving team announced its annual team awards with seniors Roman Trussov and Addison Boschult taking home the top honors for the men, and junior Emma Sougstad and sophomore Morgan Rafferty for the women for the 2015-16 season.


Trussov received the men’s Swimming MVP Award after earning honorable-mention All-America recognition in the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke at the 2016 NCAA Championships. Trussov was also a second-team All-Big Ten honoree in the 100 breast at the 2016 Big Ten Championships with a school-record time of 52.17 seconds. The Kazakhstan native also was an NCAA qualifier as part of the 200 and 400-medley relays.

Boschult earned the Wentworth “Lobby” Lobdell Award, given to the team’s top diver, for a fourth consecutive year after qualifying for his second straight NCAA Championships. The Omaha, Nebraska, native was two points shy of being in the top 16 off the platform and earning honorable mention All-America honors for a second straight year.

Sougstad garnered the Women’s Swimming MVP Award after earning honorable-mention All-America honors in the 100 breaststroke at the 2016 NCAA Championships. Sougstad, who also qualified for the NCAAs in the 200 IM and 200 breast, swam to five top-seven finishes at the 2016 Big Ten Championships and broke four school records throughout the year.

Rafferty was the recipient of the Women’s Diving MVP Award after leading the team off the 1-meter (296.02) and having the team’s second-best 3-meter score (309.98). The West Des Moines, Iowa, native was the Big Ten Diver of the Week on Dec. 16.

Freshman Jack Smith garnered the Wally Ris Memorial Award for swimming the fastest 100-freestyle time during the season. The England native posted an NCAA “B” qualifying time of 43.86 at the Big Ten Championships.

Senior Mike Nelson earned the Jim Marshall Award, handed out to a male senior who contributed to the team to the best of his athletic ability. The Arizona native was third on the team in both the 100 breast (54.57) and 200 breast (1:59.81) in 2015-16.

Senior diver Samantha Wagner was the recipient of the Alison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award, presented to a team member who exemplifies the qualities of integrity, authenticity, dedication, work ethic, perseverance, loyalty, encouragement, and leadership.

Senior Charles Holliday received the men’s Irving B. Weber Leadership Award, which is presented annually to a team member who displays outstanding leadership. Holliday, a team captain, was a semifinalist for the Arthur Ashe Sports Scholar Award and a Big Ten and NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient.

Three individuals shared the team’s Strength and Conditioning Award. Sougstad earned the women’s honor, while juniors Kyle Patnode and Brandon Farnum shared the men’s award.

Men’s Award Winners:
Men’s Swimming MVP Award: Roman Trussov
Wentworth “Lobby” Lobdell Award: Addison Boschult
Irving B. Weber Award: Charles Holliday
Wally Ris Memorial Award: Jack Smith
Jim Marshall Award: Mike Nelson
Strength and Conditioning Award: Kyle Patnode, Brandon Farnum

Women’s Award Winners
Women’s Swimming MVP Award: Emma Sougstad
Women’s Diving MVP Award: Morgan Rafferty
Alison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award: Samantha Wagner
Strength and Conditioning Award: Emma Sougstad

Print Friendly Version