Iowa Names 2016 Leadership Group

June 2, 2016

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – The University of Iowa football program has named 16 players to the 2016 Leadership Group. Head coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group Thursday.

The group includes nine seniors and seven juniors. The purpose of the group is to assist in formulating policies, and being involved in team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season. Players are selected by a team vote.

“Much of our success last year was driven by the 2015 Leadership Group,” said Ferentz. “I am pleased with the quality job the 2016 group has already done through the winter program and spring practice. Their leadership will be even more important as we begin summer training next week in preparation for August camp and the 2016 season.”

The seniors are QB C.J. Beathard, OL Cole Croston, RB LeShun Daniels, Jr., DL Jaleel Johnson, Desmond King, TE George Kittle, DB Greg Mabin, WR Riley McCarron, and WR Matt VandeBerg. The junior class is represented by DL Nathan Bazata, OL Ike Boettger, LB Bo Bower, LB Josey Jewell, OL Boone Myers, LB Ben Niemann, and OL Sean Welsh.

The 2016 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Nathan Bazata, DL, Junior, Howells, Nebraska
C.J. Beathard, QB, Senior, Franklin, Tennessee
Ike Boettger, OL, Junior, Cedar Falls, Iowa
Bo Bower, LB, Junior, West Branch, Iowa
Cole Croston, OL, Senior, Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
LeShun Daniels, Jr., RB, Senior, Warren, Ohio
Josey Jewell, LB, Junior, Decorah, Iowa
Jaleel Johnson, DL, Senior, Lombard, Illinois
George Kittle, TE, Senior, Norman, Oklahoma
Desmond King, DB, Senior, Detroit, Michigan
Greg Mabin, DB, Senior, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Riley McCarron, WR, Senior, Dubuque, Iowa
Boone Myers, OL, Junior, Webster City, Iowa
Ben Niemann, LB, Junior, Sycamore, Illinois
Matt VandeBerg, WR, Senior, Brandon, South Dakota
Sean Welsh, OL, Junior, Springboro, Ohio