Beathard Named to Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior quarterback C.J. Beathard has been named to the 2016 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Thursday.  The Davey O’Brien Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback.
Beathard (6-foot-2, 209-pounds) started all 14 games at quarterback last season, passing for 2,809 yards, 17 touchdowns, and five interceptions, while rushing for 237 yards and six touchdowns.  The Franklin, Tennessee, native guided the Hawkeyes to an undefeated regular season (12-2 overall) and its first Rose Bowl since 1991
A team captain in 2015, Beathard earned second team All-Big Ten honors by league coaches and media and third team All-Big Ten by Phil Steele at the end of the season. Earlier this month, he was named to the Maxwell Trophy Watch List, presented annually to the National College Football Player of the Year.  He was also named preseason second team All-Big Ten by Athlon Sports.
The 2016 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List includes 30 of the nation’s top college quarterbacks.  Nearly half (14) of the players on the watch list are seniors, while 11 juniors and five sophomores round out the contingent.  Among leagues, the Big 12 Conference and Big Ten Conference lead the way with five nominees apiece.
Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Nov. 10.  From that list, the Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce the three finalists on Nov. 22. The 2016 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced Dec. 8 at The Home Depot College Football Awards.
Iowa has had two Davey O’Brien Award winners in its program history — Chuck Long (1985) and Brad Banks (2002).
Iowa opens the 2016 season at home on Sept. 3, hosting Miami (Ohio) inside Kinnick Stadium.  Tickets are available for purchase by contacting the UI Athletic Ticket Office at (800) IA-HAWKS and online at