Men's Tennis Announces 2016-17 Schedule

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Shop | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch | 2016-17 Men’s Tennis Schedule


IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa men’s tennis team released its 2016-17 schedule on Friday. The Hawkeyes will compete as individuals in tournaments this fall before starting its championship season in the spring on Jan. 21 with a home doubleheader against Western Michigan and Creighton.
Iowa’s spring season is highlighted by 14 home dual matches at the Hawkeye Tennis Recreation Complex and more than 10 matches against 2016 NCAA Tournament qualifiers.
Other home matches consist of Omaha and Drake (Feb. 3); Dartmouth (Feb. 5); Utah and SIU-Edwardsville (March 3); Wisconsin (March 5); DePaul and Ohio State (March 31); Penn State (April 2); Michigan (April 21); Michigan State and North Dakota (April 23).
Iowa will compete in the ITA Kickoff Weekend on Jan. 28-29 on the campus of Texas Tech in Lubbock, Texas. The Hawkeyes will face host-school Texas Tech and either Mississippi State or Florida State in the two-day event. This marks only the second time that the Hawkeyes have been invited to compete in this prestigious event, with the other time coming in 2010.
Hawkeye road contests include Oregon (Feb. 11); Denver (Feb. 19); Nebraska (March 10); USD/SDSU Tournament (March 16-18); Minnesota (March 26); Illinois (April 7); Northwestern (April 9); Purdue (April 14); Indiana (April 16). The USD/SDSU Invitational, hosted on both San Diego and San Diego State’s campuses, features eight teams — all of whom were ranked in the ITA Top-75 a year ago.
The Big Ten Championships begin April 27 and conclude April 30 in West Lafayette, Indiana. The NCAA Regionals are May 12-14, and the NCAA Championships begin May 18 in Athens, Georgia.   
Iowa’s fall schedule includes tournaments in California, Indiana, Michigan, Oklahoma, Texas, and Wisconsin. Hawkeye student-athletes will also make their debut at the USTA Future event in mid-October, featuring top tennis players from around the world.