Big Ten Releases 2016-17 Women's Basketball League Schedule

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | 2016-17 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Schedule (PDF)

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The Big Ten announced its 2016-17 women’s basketball conference schedule on Monday. The conference season begins Dec. 28, and culminates with the 23rd annual Big Ten Tournament at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis on March 1-5.
The Big Ten is returning to a 16-game women’s basketball conference schedule this season after schools played 18 games the past two years. Each school will face three opponents twice in a home-and-away series, while playing the other 10 schools once (five at home, five on the road).
The Hawkeyes will play Illinois, Maryland, and Rutgers twice. One-plays at home include Nebraska, Northwestern, Michigan State, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. One-plays against Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Purdue, and Ohio State will be on the road.
The University of Iowa will open league play on the road at Illinois on Dec. 28, before returning home to entertain Nebraska on New Year’s Eve on Mediacom Court at Carver-Hawkeye Arena.
Iowa’s conference schedule features four weekend and four midweek home games. The Hawkeyes’ weekend home contests include: Nebraska (Dec. 31), Maryland (Jan. 14), Minnesota (Jan. 21), and Wisconsin (Feb. 26). Iowa’s game against the Badgers will be “Senior Day.”
Television designations for the Big Ten men’s basketball conference schedule and Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament will be announced at a later date.

Fans can request season tickets for the upcoming basketball season at the UI Athletics Ticket Office at Carver-Hawkeye Arena, over the phone at 1-800-IA-HAWKS, or online at