Silverstein, Haden Earn Big Ten Postseason Recognition

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — April 2017 | Box Score (PDF)

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — The Big Ten conference announced its 2017 men’s tennis all-conference teams Thursday, which includes University of Iowa junior Josh Silverstein on the six-player second team list. Silverstein becomes Iowa 21st honoree and the first to be named since Matt Hagan earned first team honors in 2015.

Silverstein has played at the top of the lineup for most of his career at Iowa. The Great Neck, New York, native has collected 16 singles wins at No. 1 for the Hawkeyes. He climbed as high as 109th nationally in singles rankings this spring. He has won a total of 100 singles and doubles matches during his time in the Black and Gold. He ranks 13th on Iowa’s all-time career doubles wins list and is tied for fourth in single-season doubles victories.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. SeniorRobin Haden was named as the Hawkeyes’ men’s tennis honoree.

During Haden’s two years at Iowa, he has totaled 14 singles victories and 20 doubles wins.