Big Ten Releases 2017-18 WBB Conference Slate

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch – 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — June 2017

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The Big Ten announced its 2017-18 women’s basketball conference schedule on Wednesday. The conference season begins Dec. 28 and concludes with the 24th annual Big Ten Tournament at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis on Feb. 28-March 4.
The Hawkeyes will play three Big Ten teams twice and 10 teams once. Iowa will compete against Minnesota, Nebraska, and Wisconsin twice. The Hawkeyes will host Indiana, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State, and Purdue, and travel to Illinois, Maryland, Michigan State, Northwestern, and Rutgers.
“The Big Ten is one of the premiere women’s basketball conferences in the country, so we know the competition is always top-notch,” said Gary Barta, UI director of athletics. “With six weekend Big Ten home games on the schedule, we look forward to the exciting game day environment our fans continuously provide in Carver-Hawkeye Arena.”
Iowa’s 16-game conference slate includes six weekend home contests, including two on Saturdays (Purdue on Jan. 13 and Indiana on Feb. 24) and four on Sundays (Michigan on Dec. 31, Nebraska on Jan. 28, Minnesota on Feb. 4, and Wisconsin on Feb. 18). The Hawkeyes will conclude their regular season at home for the third consecutive year.
“We are looking forward to another challenging Big Ten season,” said head coach Lisa Bluder.  “Our double games are all against border states — Nebraska, Minnesota, and Wisconsin — and I think our fans will really enjoy that. I also like the opportunity to wrap up our season at home as we face Indiana. Our supporters have always been amazing at sending our senior classes out in style.” 
Iowa Women’s Basketball Conference Schedule
Dec. 28                 at Wisconsin
Dec. 31                 Michigan
Jan. 4                     at Maryland
Jan. 7                     at Illinois
Jan. 13                  Purdue
Jan. 16                  at Nebraska
Jan. 21                  at Minnesota
Jan. 25                  Ohio State
Jan. 28                  Nebraska
Feb. 1                    at Michigan State
Feb. 4                    Minnesota
Feb. 8                    Penn State
Feb. 11                 at Northwestern
Feb. 18                 Wisconsin
Feb. 21                 at Rutgers
Feb. 24                 Indiana
Iowa made its 10th straight postseason appearance and advanced to the quarterfinals on the WNIT last season. The Hawkeyes return four starters, including Megan Gustafson, Tania Davis, Kathleen Doyle, and Makenzie Meyer, and nine letterwinners for the 2017-18 season.
Tip times and television information will be announced at a later date. Iowa’s nonconference slate was announced last week. To view the complete 2017-18 schedule, visit the Iowa women’s basketball schedule page on
Fans can request season tickets for the upcoming basketball season at the UI Athletics Ticket Office at Carver-Hawkeye Arena, over the phone at 1-800-IA-HAWKS, or online at