Big Ten Announces 2020 and 2021 Football Schedules

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa football team will travel to Minnesota Sept. 19 to open the 2020 Big Ten Conference season, while the Hawkeyes will open the 2021 season by hosting Indiana on Sept. 4. The Big Ten Conference announced the entire slate of Big Ten football schedules for 2020 and 2021 on Tuesday.
The Hawkeyes will close each of those seasons against Wisconsin, hosting the Badgers on Nov. 28, 2020, and traveling to Madison on Nov. 27, 2021. The Hawkeyes have closed each season since 2011 against Nebraska on Black Friday in the annual Hy-Vee Heroes Game.
34211“We are excited to continue with the tradition of a trophy game closing out our regular season,” said Gary Barta, the UI’s Henry B. and Patricia B. Tippie Director of Athletics Chair. “We have one of the best fanbases in the country and the Big Ten is one of the most challenging leagues in the country. Our fans have enjoyed the strong rivalry between Iowa and Wisconsin, and we anticipate the series will continue to produce more exciting games as it has in the past.”
The Hawkeyes travel to Nebraska on Friday, Nov. 24 to close the 2017 season, and host the Cornhuskers on Friday, Nov. 23, 2018. 
After opening the 2020 conference season at Minnesota, the Hawkeyes host Michigan State before back-to-back road trips to Ohio State and Penn State. Iowa then hosts Northwestern and travels to Illinois before Nebraska visits Kinnick Stadium. A trip to Purdue preceeds the final game at Wisconsin.
The Indiana contest in Kinnick Stadium opens the 2021 season. Following nonconference play, Iowa resumes its Big Ten schedule at Northwestern before hosting Penn State. The Hawkeyes also travel to Maryland before the final road trips are at Nebraska and Wisconsin. Additional home games include Purdue, Minnesota, and Illinois.
Iowa’s nonconference schedule for the 2020 and 2021 seasons are not yet finalized. Below are the 2020 and 2021 Big Ten schedules for the Hawkeyes:
Sept. 19       at Minnesota
Oct. 3          Michigan State
Oct. 10        at Ohio State
Oct. 17        at Penn State
Oct. 24        Northwestern
Nov. 7         at Illinois
Nov. 14       Nebraska
Nov. 21       at Purdue
Nov. 28       Wisconsin
Sept. 4         Indiana
Oct. 2          at Northwestern
Oct. 9          Penn State
Oct. 23        at Maryland
Oct. 30        Purdue
Nov. 6         at Nebraska
Nov. 13       Minnesota
Nov. 20       Illinois
Nov. 27       at Wisconsin