Josey Jewell Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Winner

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — December | Photo Gallery

NEWPORT BEACH, California — University of Iowa senior linebacker Josey Jewell was named the 2017 Lott IMPACT Trophy winner. The announcement came Sunday evening from Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.
The trophy, given to the nation’s best defensive IMPACT player, was presented at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California, by Ronnie Lott. In addition, Jewell earned $25,000 for the university’s general scholarship fund. Jewell is the eighth player to earn a national player of the year award on nine occasions under head coach Kirk Ferentz.
Joining Jewell as finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy were Minkah Fitzpatrick of Alabama, Micah Kiser of Virginia and Stanford’s Harrison Phillips.
Jewell, a native of Decorah, Iowa, earned first-team honors by Big Ten coaches and media, Associated Press, and Walter Camp.  He leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally in tackles (125 total, 11.4 per game). He was one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, and is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.  Jewell was a semifinalist for the Bednarik and Butkus Awards. He was named the recipient of the Jack Lambert Award on Nov. 27.
Jewell is the third Hawkeye in program history to have three seasons with at least 115 tackles (Larry Station 83, 84, 85; Abdul Hodge 03, 04, 05). Jewell has led the team in tackles in each of the last two seasons (126 in 2015, 124 in 2016). 
Jewell has 426 career tackles, fifth all-time in program history.
Former Iowa linebacker James Morris was a finalist for the award in 2013, while former defensive back Desmond King was a semifinalist in 2016.
Iowa (7-5) is bowl eligible for the 16th time in the last 17 seasons. The Hawkeyes will meet Boston College (7-5) in the Pinstripe Bowl in New York on Dec. 27 (4:15 p.m. CT).