Jewell, Jackson Named Unanimous Consensus All-Americans

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — December

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior linebacker Josey Jewell and junior defensive back Josh Jackson have been named unanimous consensus All-Americans by the NCAA.
Jewell and Jackson garnered first-team All-America honors by all five news outlets that establish consensus All-America honors. The outlets include the Walter Camp Foundation, Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), the Associated Press, Sporting News, and American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).
The duo are the 24th and 25th Iowa football players to earn Consensus All-America status and mark the fifth time in program history that a pair of Hawkeyes earned consensus All-America honors in the same season. Jewell and Jackson join Robert Gallery and Nate Kaeding (2003), Eric Steinbach and Dallas Clark (2002), Chuck Long and Larry Station (1985), and Andre Tippett and Reggie Roby (1981).
They also join six other Hawkeyes to earn unanimous All-America status, including Randy Duncan (1958), Station (1985), Long (1985), Clark (2002), Brandon Scherff (2014), and Desmond King (2015).
In addition, Jewell and Jackson were recognized as first-team All-Americans by,, College Sports Madness, USA Today, and
Jewell, a native of Decorah, Iowa, was the recipient of the Lott IMPACT Trophy and Jack Lambert Award. He earned first-team all-conference honors by Big Ten coaches and media and Associated Press, and was named the Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year and Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year. He leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally in tackles (125 total, 11.4 per game). Jewell is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and was a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. In addition, he was a semifinalist for the Bednarik and Butkus Awards. Jewell earned Academic All-Big Ten honors for the third time.
Jewell is the third Hawkeye in program history to have three seasons with at least 115 tackles (Larry Station 83, 84, 85; Abdul Hodge 03, 04, 05). Jewell has led the team in tackles in each of the last two seasons (126 in 2015, 124 in 2016). 
Jewell has 426 career tackles, fifth all-time in program history.
Jackson, a native of Corinth, Texas, is tied as the national leader with seven interceptions and earned all-conference recognition for the first time.  He was named the Big Ten’s Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year and earned the Jack Tatum Award from the Touchdown Club of Columbus.
Jackson leads the nation with 25 passes defended and is tied for second in interception return touchdowns (two), and pass break-ups (18).  He ranks third in interception return yards (163).  Jackson’s seven interceptions rank fourth best for a single season at Iowa, just one from tying Iowa’s single-season record (Desmond King, 2015; Lou King, 1981; Nile Kinnick, 1939).
Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with two interception returns for touchdowns (B.J. Lowery, 2013) at Wisconsin, covering 43 and 52 yards.  The previous week, Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with three interceptions in Iowa’s 55-24 win over No. 3 Ohio State.  Jackson also had a forced fumble at Wisconsin, and a blocked field goal in a win over North Texas.  He has started all 12 games this season and recorded 47 tackles. Jackson was one of three finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award.
Iowa (7-5) is bowl eligible for the 16th time in the last 17 seasons.  The Hawkeyes will meet Boston College (7-5) in the Pinstripe Bowl on Dec. 27 (4:15 p.m. CT). Tickets are available at