Josey Jewell Selected by Denver in 4th Round of NFL Draft

Hawk Talk Monthly — April 2018 | I-Club Events Page | Sign Up For Season Tickets | NFL Draft Central

ARLINGTON, Texas University of Iowa senior linebacker Josey Jewell was selected by the Denver Broncos with the sixth pick of the fourth round of Saturday’s NFL Draft. Jewell was the 106th player picked overall.
52254Jewell, a native of Decorah, Iowa, is the first Hawkeye linebacker drafted since Christian Kirksey and Anthony Hitchens were selected in 2014.  Jewell is the eighth linebacker and 66th Hawkeye overall selected under head coach Kirk Ferentz.
Jewell started all 12 games in which he played in 2017, missing one game due to injury. He led the Big Ten and ranked fourth nationally in tackles with 136 tackles. He ranks fourth in career tackles (437) and is just the third Hawkeye ever to record more than 115 tackles in three different seasons.
Jewell earned unanimous consensus All-America honors, and was the recipient of the 2017 Lott IMPACT Trophy and Jack Lambert Award. He was the Big Ten Conference Defensive Player of the Year and the Linebacker of the Year while earning first team All-Big Ten honors.
Jewell was one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, and a semifinalist for the Bednarik and Butkus awards. Jewell in 2015 became the only sophomore under Kirk Ferentz to be named a permanent team captain, earning that recognition three straight seasons.
Jewell, a native of Decorah, also excelled in the classroom throughout his career.  He carried a 3.25 GPA and earned his bachelor’s degree in Enterprise Leadership. He earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition for the third straight year as a senior and was recognized by the National Football Foundation as a member of the Hampshire Honor Society. 
Over the past four seasons Jewell helped the Hawkeyes post a 35-18 overall record while participating in four straight bowl games, including the 2016 Rose Bowl Game, 2017 Outback Bowl and 2017 Pinstripe Bowl. Iowa won the Big Ten West Division and played in the league championship game in Indianapolis in 2015.
Iowa has had at least one player drafted in every NFL Draft since 1978. He is the third Hawkeye selected in the draft, joining James Daniels (Chicago) and Josh Jackson (Green Bay).
The Broncos placed fourth in the AFC West Division in 2017, finishing the season with a 5-11 record.

2018 NFL Draft
Round 2 James Daniels Chicago Bears Center
Round 2 Josh Jackson Green Bay Packers Defensive Back
Round 4 Josey Jewell Denver Broncos Linebacker
2017 NFL Draft
Round 3 C.J. Beathard San Francisco 49ers Quarterback
Round 4 Jaleel Johnson Minnesota Vikings Defensive Line
Round 5 George Kittle San Francisco 49ers Tight End
Round 5 Desmond King Los Angeles Chargers Defensive Back
2016 NFL Draft
Round 7 Austin Blythe Indianapolis Colts Offensive Line
2015 NFL Draft
Round 1 Brandon Scherff Washington Redskins Offensive Line
Round 3 Carl Davis Baltimore Ravens Defensive Line
Round 4 Andrew Donnal St. Louis Rams Offensive Line
2014 NFL Draft
Round 3 C.J. Fiedorowicz Houston Texans Tight End
Round 3 Christian Kirksey Cleveland Browns Linebacker
Round 4 Anthony Hitchens Dallas Cowboys Linebacker
2013 NFL Draft
Round 5 Micah Hyde Green Bay Packers Cornerback
2012 NFL Draft
Round 1 Riley Reiff Detroit Offensive Line
Round 4 Mike Daniels Green Bay Defensive Line
Round 5 Adam Gettis Washington Offensive Line
Round 5 Shaun Prater Cincinnati Defensive back
Round 6 Marvin McNutt Philadelphia Wide receiver
Round 7 Jordan Bernstine Washington Defensive back
2011 NFL Draft
Round 1 Adrian Clayborn Tampa Bay Defensive end
Round 4 Christian Ballard Minnesota Defensive Line
Round 5 Ricky Stanzi Kansas City Quarterback
Round 5 Karl Klug Tennessee Defensive Line
Round 5 Julian Vandervelde Philadelphia Offensive Line
Round 6 Tyler Sash New York Giants Defensive back
2010 NFL Draft
Round 1 Bryan Bulaga Green Bay Offensive Line
Round 2 Pat Angerer Indianapolis Linebacker
Round 3 Amari Spievey Detroit Defensive back
Round 3 Tony Moeaki Kansas City Tight end
Round 4 A.J. Edds Miami Linebacker
Round 7 Kyle Calloway Buffalo Offensive Line
2009 NFL Draft
Round 3 Shonn Greene New York Jets Running back
Round 3 Bradley Fletcher St. Louis Defensive back
Round 4 Seth Olsen Denver Offensive Line
Round 6 Brandon Myers Oakland Tight end
2008 NFL Draft
Round 3 Charles Godfrey Carolina Defensive back
Round 4 Kenny Iwebema Arizona Defensive end
Round 6 Mike Humpal Pittsburgh Linebacker
2007 NFL Draft
Round 3 Marshal Yanda Baltimore Offensive Line
Round 4 Scott Chandler San Diego Tight end
Round 7 Mike Elgin New England Offensive Line
2006 NFL Draft
Round 1 Chad Greenway Minnesota Linebacker
Round 3 Abdul Hodge Green Bay Linebacker
2005 NFL Draft
Round 2 Matt Roth Miami Defensive end
Round 2 Jonathan Babineaux Atlanta Defensive Line
Round 4 Sean Considine Philadelphia Defensive Back
Round 6 Tony Jackson Seattle Tight end
Round 6 Pete McMahon Oakland Offensive Line
2004 NFL Draft
Round 1 Robert Gallery Oakland Offensive Line
Round 2 Bob Sanders Indianapolis Defensive Back
Round 3 Nate Kaeding San Diego Place kicker
Round 7 Jared Clauss Tennessee Defensive Line
Round 7 Erik Jensen St. Louis Tight end
2003 NFL Draft
Round 1 Dallas Clark Indianapolis Tight end
Round 2 Eric Steinbach Cincinnati Offensive Line
Round 2 Bruce Nelson Carolina Center
Round 5 Derek Pagel New York Jets Defensive Back
Round 5 Ben Sobieski Buffalo Offensive Line
2002 NFL Draft
Round 2 Ladell Betts Washington Running Back
Round 5 Aaron Kampman Green Bay Defensive Line
Round 6 Kahlil Hill Atlanta Wide receiver
2001 NFL Draft
Round 6 Kevin Kasper Denver Wide receiver
2000 NFL Draft
Round 5 Austin Wheatley New Orleans Tight end
Round 6 Matt Bowen St. Louis Defensive Back