Gustafson Invited to Attend 2019 WNBA Draft

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19 | Hawk Talk Monthly — April

NEW YORK — University of Iowa senior Megan Gustafson has been invited to attend the 2019 WNBA Draft on Wednesday, April 10, the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) announced the invitational-only guest list Tuesday.
ESPN2 will cover the first round live at the Nike NYC Headquarters at 6 p.m. (CT), while the second and third rounds will air on ESPNU. The app will also stream live on the ESPN app.
Joining Gustafson are the draft are Kristine Anigwe (Cal), Kalani Brown (Baylor), Napheesa Collier (UConn), Sophie Cunningham (Missouri), Asia Durr (Louisville), Teaira McCowan (Mississippi State), Arike Ogunbowale (Notre Dame), Katie Lou Samuelson (UConn), Alanna Smith (Stanford), Han Xu (China), and Jackie Young (Notre Dame).
Twelve Hawkeyes have been selected in the WNBA Draft in program history. Gustafson looks to become the first Hawkeye to be drafted since Sam Logic was picked by the Atlanta Dream as the 10th overall pick in 2015.
Gustafson, the first consensus national player of the year in Big Ten history, ended her career as the most decorated Hawkeye in program history. The Port Wing, Wisconsin, native owns 16 Iowa records, including career marks for points (2,804) and rebounds (1,460).
In 2018-19, Gustafson became just the fourth Division I female student-athlete and the only post player to eclipse 1,000 points in a single season. She is the only women’s player in Division I history to average 27.8 or more points, 13.3 or more rebounds, and shoot 69.6 percent or better from the field. Her 33 double-doubles during her senior campaign are an NCAA Record. Gustafson’s 88 career double-doubles rank fourth all-time, her 65.7 career field goal percentage ranks fifth nationally, and her 1,459 career rebounds ranks 14th. The field goal percentage and rebounds are also Big Ten Conference records.
Gustafson is chronicling her path from the end of her college her career to the start of her WNBA career through an AP Draft Diary. To follow along, click here.
Year         Name                           Team                   Round (Overall Selection)
2015         Sam Logic                    Atlanta                 (first, 10)
2011         Kachine Alexander       Minnesota           (third round, 26)
2006         Crystal Smith                Phoenix                (third, 32)
2002         Lindsey Meder              Minnesota           (third, 38)
2001         Cara Consuegra           Utah                     (fourth, 56)
1999         Amy Herrig                   Sacramento         (fourth, 38)
1998         Tangela Smith              Sacramento         (second, 12)
1998         Nadine Damond           New York             (second, 19)
1998         Angela Hamblin           Washington         (third, 23)
1997         Toni Foster                   Phoenix                (first, 8)
1997         Tia Jackson                   Phoenix                (second, 9)
1997         Michelle Edwards        Cleveland             (player allocation)

FFI footer