Iowa Announces 2018-19 Team Awards

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch | Fight For Iowa

April 24, 2019
IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa swimming and diving team announced its 2018-19 team awards during their annual awards banquet Tuesday night following the annual Golden Herkys.
Senior Kenneth Mende and sophomore Anton Hoherz took home top awards for the men, while junior Hannah Burvill and sophomore Jayah Mathews earned highest honors for the women for the 2018-19 season.
Mende was named the team MVP for a second straight season after leading the team in the 100 and 200-yard backstroke with two NCAA ‘B’ standards. He finished his Iowa career with the 200 back record (1:42.12) and was a member of the record-setting 400-medley relay (3:07.83). Mende also ranks third all-time in the 100 back (46.79), 200 IM (1:47.42), and 200-medley relay (1:25.67).
Hoherz earned the “Lobby” Lobdell Award for a second consecutive year after leading the team on the platform. The Spring, Texas, native qualified for the NCAA Championships for the first time in his career, while ranking second on the team off the 1-meter (341.80) and 3-meter (391.40) springboard.
Burvill earned her second straight team MVP honor after qualifying for the NCAA Championships for a second consecutive season. During her junior campaign, Burvill captured school records in the 50 free (22.55), and 100 back (53.27).  She is also a record holder in the 100 free (48.94) and in four relays — 400-free, 800-free, 200-medley, and 400-medley relays.
Mathews was tabbed as the women’s diving MVP for a second consecutive season after leading the team on the 1-meter and 3-meter springboards. The Australia native qualified for the NCAA Championships for a second straight season and she posted career best scores of 330.05 off the 1-meter and 380.20 off the 3-meter. She currently sits second and third all-time in the Iowa record books.
Senior Jack Smith secured the Wally Ris Memorial Award for the third consecutive season after posting the fastest 100 free time of the year in 42.80 seconds, just .09 seconds shy of his 2018 school record. Smith ends his career at Iowa with school records in the 100 free, 200-free relay (1:17.86), 400-free relay (2:51.06), and 400-medley relay (3:07.83).
Senior Tanner Nelson received the Jim Marshall Award, an honor presented annually to the senior who has contributed to the best of their athletic ability. The Bettendorf, Iowa native broke into the Iowa record books this season at ninth in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 54.44.
Sophomore Sage Ohlensehlen was the recipient of the Alison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award, presented to the women’s team member who exemplifies the qualities of integrity, authenticity, dedication, work ethic, perseverance, loyalty, encouragement, and leadership. Ohlensehlen ranked third on the team in the 100 breast and 200 breast this season.
Senior Ben Colin received the Irving B. Weber Leadership Award, which is presented annually to an individual who displays outstanding leadership. The Dubuque, Iowa, Iowa, native was a the chair of Iowa’s Student Athlete Advisory Committee (ISAAC) and a member of Student Government (UISG).
One individual from both the men’s and women’s teams earned the Iron Hawk Strength and Conditioning Award. Freshman Mateusz Arndt was honored for the men, while sophomore Kelsey Drake took home the award for the women.  
Arndt was second on the team in both the 500-yard freestyle and 1,000-yard freestyle as a freshman.  His 500 time of 4:21.31 was an NCAA “B” cut. Drake led the team in the 100-yard and 200-yard butterfly in 2018-19.  She broke the school record in the 100 fly and posted NCAA “B” qualifying standards in both events.
2018-19 Iowa Swimming & Diving Honorees

Men’s Swimming MVP:  Kenneth Mende
“Lobby” Lobdell Award (Diving MVP):  Anton Hoherz
Wally Ris Memorial Award:  Jack Smith
Jim Marshall Award:  Tanner Nelson
Irving B. Weber Award:  Ben Colin
Strength & Conditioning Achievement Award:  Mateusz Arndt
Women’s Swimming MVP:  Hannah Burvill
Women’s Diving MVP:  Jayah Mathews
Alison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award:  Sage Ohlensehlen
Strength & Conditioning Achievement Award:  Kelsey Drake