Davies, Tyler Advance to Spartan Invite Championship

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly — October | Fight For Iowa | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2019-20

EAST LANSING, Mich. — University of Iowa men’s tennis juniors Joe Tyler and Will Davies advanced to the championship of the Frank Beeman Invite on Saturday advancing past both Michigan State and Michigan paired teams at the MSU Outdoor Tennis Courts.
Iowa’s four student-athletes of Matt Clegg, Nikita Snezhko, Davies, and Tyler went a combined 9-1 on Saturday.
Tyler and Davies began the day sweeping singles wins against Michigan State’s Carson Gates (6-1, 6-4) and Anthony Pero (6-1, 6-2), respectively, to advance to the semifinals. In doubles, Davies/Tyler knocked off Beaty/Maloney of Michigan (6-3). Tyler dropped a tight match to Beaty (7-6, 6-2), but Davies posted a 6-1, 7-5 win over Maloney to advance the Hawkeye duo to Sunday’s championship against Michigan’s Andrew Fenty and Kristopher Siimar.
Clegg and Snezhko won all five of their combined matches on Saturday to advance to Sunday’s consolation final. Clegg recorded a straight sets win over Drew Keene of Michigan State (6-4, 6-4) and a three-set victory over Luuk Wassenaar of DePaul (3-6, 6-1, 10-4). Snezhko posted a three-set win over Michigan State’s Jarreau Campbell (3-6, 6-3, 12-10) and a straight sets triumph over Lars Peder Minsass of DePaul (6-3, 6-4). The Hawkeye duo also bounced DePaul’s Wassenaar/Minsass by the score of 6-3.
“We played a high level of doubles today winning all three matches. After some nerves yesterday, Matt won his first match as a Hawkeye. I really like the energy he played with in his second set and 10-point tiebreaker of his second singles match. Nikita has made some big strides over the summer, keeping himself composed in the big moments. Will had a great day beating a tough player from Michigan, who he beat to clinch the match against them last year in Iowa City.”
There is one draw of 16 doubles teams from each school. Teams play a 6-game set of doubles, followed by a five-minute break and then two singles matches with a 10-point breaker in lieu of a third set. The doubles team from each school that wins two-of-three matches advances to the next round.
For tournament updates follow @IowaMensTennis on Twitter and for behind the scenes action follow on Instagram @iowamenstennis.
Matt Clegg (UI) def. Drew Keene (MSU): 6-4, 6-4
Matt Clegg (UI) def. Luuk Wassenaar (DePaul): 3-6, 6-1, 10-4
Nikita Snezhko (UI) def. Jarreau Campbell (MSU): 3-6, 6-3, 12-10
Nikita Snezhko (UI) def. Lars Peder Minsass (DePaul): 6-3, 6-4
Will Davies (UI) def. Anthony Pero (MSU): 6-1, 6-2
Will Davies (UI) def. Patrick Maloney (Michigan): 6-1, 7-5
Nick Beaty (Michigan) def. Joe Tyler (UI): 7-6, 6-2
Joe Tyler (UI) def. Carson Gates (MSU): 6-1, 6-4
Clegg/Snezhko (UI) def. Wassenaar/Minsass (DePaul): 6-3
Davies/Tyler (UI) def. Beaty/Maloney (Michigan): 6-3

FFI footer