Hawkeyes Finish Two Rounds at All State Sugar Bowl

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly — February | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2019-20 | I-Club Events Page | Leader board Round 2 | Team Leader Board Round 2 | Player Leaderboard Round 2

NEW ORLEANS, Louis. – Due to an unexpected weather delay, the University of Iowa women’s golf team played 36 holes and finished with a score of 614 (+30) at the All State Sugar Bowl.

No. 10 Florida led the competition with a two round score of 572 (-12). North Carolina State finished with a score of 577 (-7), followed by No. 32 Miami with a score of 581 (-3).


“We cam out and looked strong at the beginning of the day and for some reason we did not execute to finish the first round. We lost our momentum and struggled to get it back. Lea (Zeitler) executed her plan well today and put herself in a good position after rounds one and two. We are going to fight back and finish strong tomorrow.”


Freshman Lea Zeitler finished the first round with a 72 (-1). Zeitler jumped two spots on the leader board during round two and tallied a 36-hole score of 144 (-2). Zeitler tallied a total of nine birdies during competition and will go into the final round tied for ninth place.

Freshman Jacquelyn Galloway finished the day tied for 63rd place. Galloway posted a two-round score of 155 (+9), carding two birdies.

Senior Sarah Overton carded a 36-hole score of 157 (+11). Overton carded four birdies and will go into the final round tied for 69th place.

Junior Brett Permann was back in action for the Hawkeyes after missing the fall season due to injury. Permann carded a two-round score of 159 (+13) and tallied two birdies. She currently sits in 76th place.

Freshman Morgan Goldstein posted a two-round score of 160 (+14) and carded a total of three birdies.


13 Iowa 304 310 614 + 30
T-9 Lea Zeitler 72 72 144 -2
T-63 Jacquelyn Galloway 76 79 155 +9
T-69 Sarah Overton 78 79 157 +11
76 Brett Permann 78 81 159 +13
T-77 Morgan Goldstein 80 80 160 +14

The final round of the All State Sugar Bowl starts on Tuesday at 8 a.m. (CT).