Nixon Headlines Hawkeyes on AP All-Big Ten Team

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior defensive tackle Daviyon Nixon has been named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press and is one of nine Hawkeyes to be named an AP All-Big Ten selection.

Nixon and senior left tackle Alaric Jackson were unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections. Nixon and Jackson were two of only four unanimous selections.

Senior defensive end Chauncey Golston, redshirt sophomore center Tyler Linderbaum, sophomore running back Tyler Goodson, and freshman punter Tory Taylor were also first-team honorees.

Senior offensive guard Cole Banwart, senior kicker Keith Duncan, and junior defensive back Jack Koerner were second-team selections.

Nixon, the Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year and the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year in the Big Ten, leads the Big Ten in tackles for loss (33), tied for the conference lead in sacks (5.5), and has the most tackles by a Big Ten defensive lineman (41).

Nixon is a finalist for the Outland Trophy and Nagurski Trophy, a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik award, and one of 20 players to watch for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Jackson, a Detroit, Michigan, native, has started all eight games for the Hawkeyes at left tackle this season and has helped lead Iowa’s offense that ranks second in the Big Ten in fewest sacks allowed, first downs, fourth down conversions, and scoring offense, and third in red zone offense. Jackson has 42 career starts, all at left tackle.

Golston, a Detroit, Michigan, native, is tied for the Big Ten lead with 5.5 sacks and his 8.5 tackles for loss is tied for eighth in the conference. Golston is one of 24 semifinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, registering 36 tackles (20 solos, 16 assists), one interception, one PBU, and one forced fumble.

Linderbaum, a Solon, Iowa native, has started every game at center this season for the second straight year. He was named a finalist for the Rimington Trophy and first-team All-America by Pro Football Focus.

Goodson, from North Gwinnett, Georgia, leads the Hawkeyes and ranks second in the Big Ten with 762 rushing yards. Goodson’s seven rushing touchdowns are tied for third most in the Big Ten. He has four 100-yard rushing games this season and has the longest run by a Big Ten player this season after his 80-yard touchdown scamper in the fourth quarter against Wisconsin.

Taylor, a Melbourne, Australia native, became the first punter in school history and the first freshman in conference history to be named the Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year in the Big Ten. He averaged 44.1 yards on 40 punts this season, including nine punts of 50 plus yard, with a long of 61 yards. He downed 18 punts inside the opponent’s 20-yard line.

Taylor’s 44.1-yard average ranks third in the Big Ten and 20th in the NCAA.

The Ray Guy Award semifinalist had only one touchback in 40 attempts and opposing returners are averaging only 4.6 yards on six punt returns. Opponents have lost two fumbles while fielding punt returns.

Banwart, an Ottosen, Iowa, native, is one of three Iowa offensive lineman to start all eight games this season. He has started at both right and left guard.

Duncan, a Burlsworth Trophy semifinalist, is 14-of-18 on field goal attempts in 2020, with three of his four misses from 50 yards or more. Duncan is a perfect 26-of-26 on PATs this season. He matched a career-high four field goals, including the game-winner from 37 yards to earn his fifth career Big Ten Player of the Week honor.

Koerner, a Des Moines, Iowa, native, racked up the third-most tackles (45) on the team, including 13 tackles in Week 1 against Purdue to tie a career high. Koerner’s three interceptions tie for the sixth most in the conference.

The 15th-ranked University of Iowa football team will face Missouri in the 2020 TransPerfect Music City Bowl on Dec. 30 in Nashville, Tennessee. Kickoff is set for 3 p.m. (CT) from Nissan Stadium and the game will be televised on ESPN.

FFI Footer