Rydberg, Wheaton Named Team Captains for 2021

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa soccer players Hailey Rydberg and Sara Wheaton have been named 2021 team captains, head coach Dave DiIanni announced Tuesday.

Rydberg was a Big Ten All-Tournament Team selection last season and voted Iowa’s team MVP. She started all 17 games and attempted a team-high 44 shots. The midfielder registered two assists, including one on the game-winner in Iowa’s Big Ten Tournament semifinal victory at No. 4 Penn State.

Wheaton led the Hawkeyes in 90 minutes performances last season with 14 full games played was voted Iowa’s Defensive Player of the Year. She has tallied four goals while starting in all but one game each of the past three seasons.

Rydberg and Wheaton were named to the 2021 Big Ten Players to Watch List when the league released its preseason honors Monday. Teammate Samantha Cary was also named to the list.

The Hawkeyes kick off the regular season Thursday at 4 p.m. (CT) at DePaul. Iowa opens the home schedule Aug. 26 hosting Iowa State at 6 p.m. (CT) in the annual Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series. The Big Ten season gets underway Sept. 19 in Iowa City against Northwestern.