McKiver Named B1G Track Athlete of the Year

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa track and field freshman Jenoah McKiver was named Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Year, the conference announced Wednesday.

The High Point, North Carolina, native is the second Hawkeye ever to win the Big Ten honor indoors (Wayne Lawrence, Jr., 2020) and the seventh overall (indoor and outdoor). Former Hawkeye Jaylan McConnico was the last Hawkeye to earn a Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year honor (2021, outdoor).

McKiver finished runner-up in the 400 meters (45.65) at the NCAA Indoor Championships in Birmingham, Alabama, on March 12, earning first team All-America honors. He also anchored the second team All-America 4×400-meter relay.

McKiver finished as a Big Ten Champion in the 600 meters (1:15.67) and as a member of the 4×400-meter relay back on February 26 at the Big Ten Indoor Championships in Geneva, Ohio.

The Hawkeye had one of the best indoor seasons in Iowa history – breaking three school records in a two-week span.

McKiver ran the seventh-fastest 600 meters ever collegiately (all tracks and surfaces) at the Meyo Invite (1:15.36). The following week at the Tyson Invite, he broke the 400-meter record (45.39) and anchored the school record 4×400-meter relay that bested the previous record by over two seconds (3:02.40) — the second-fastest time in the NCAA this season.