Campbell Named Butkus Award Player of the Month

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior linebacker Jack Campbell has been named the Butkus Award Player of the Month for November. The announced was made Thursday by the Butkus Foundation.

Campbell and the Hawkeyes posted a 3-1 record in November with wins at Purdue and Minnesota and a home victory over Wisconsin. In the four games, Campbell totaled 36 tackles, including 20 solo tackles and 16 assists. He had a forced fumble and pass interception in the final five minutes of the win at Minnesota, which led to Iowa’s game-winning field goal with 28 seconds remaining.

It was announced in November that Campbell is one of five finalists for the Butkus Award, which goes annually to the top linebacker in the nation. The 2022 Butkus Award winner will be announced the first week in December. Campbell was a semifinalist for the Butkus Award in 2021.

Earlier this week Campbell was named the Nagurski-Wooden Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and the Butkus-Fitzgerald Big Ten Linebacker of the Year and he earned first-team All-Big Ten honors for the second consecutive season.

Campbell (6-foot-5, 246-pounds) has led Iowa’s defense all season. He has totaled 118 tackles, which are second in the Big Ten and tied for 13th nationally. The Cedar Falls, Iowa, native also recorded two interceptions, one recovered fumble and one forced fumble, along with 3.5 tackles for loss. He has 295 career tackles to rank 19th in program history.

Campbell is also a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which will be announced Tuesday, Dec. 6. He was named a semifinalist for the Bednarik and Rotary Lombardi awards.

Former Hawkeye linebacker Josey Jewell was a semifinalist for the Butkus Award in both 2016 and 2017, while Chad Greenway was a semifinalist in 2005. Larry Station placed second in the Butkus Award balloting in 1985.

Iowa (7-5, 5-4) will find out its bowl destination on Sunday. The Hawkeyes are expecting their 20th bowl invite over the past 24 seasons under Moon Family head football coach Kirk Ferentz.