Clark, Czinano on USBWA Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior guard Caitlin Clark and fifth-year post player Monika Czinano was named to the USBWA Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List on Wednesday. The award is presented to the nation’s top Division I women’s player.

Clark has been tabbed as the Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year, All-Big Ten by coaches and media (unanimous), Nancy Lieberman Preseason Watch List, AP All-American (unanimous), Naismith, Wooden Preseason Watch List, and The Athletic Player of the Year.

This season, Clark is leading the Hawkeyes with 27.2 points, 7.4 rebounds and 6.7 assists per game. Clark’s game is unmatched, she is the only player in the nation with more than 430 points, 115 rebounds, 100 assists, and 25 steals through 16 games.

Clark was also the fourth Iowa women’s basketball player to eclipse 2,000 career points and tied Elena Delle Donne as that fastest players to reach that milestone in 75 career games. Clark was the first Iowa men’s or women’s basketball player to amass 2,000 career points, 550 assists, 530 rebounds, 120 steals, and 40 blocks in a career.

The West Des Moines, Iowa, native also was recognized as Big Ten Player of the Year and was a Naismith and Wooden Award finalist in 2022.

Czinano was the fifth Hawkeye to surpass 2,000 career points and 38th all-time in Big Ten Conference history. Czinano and Clark were the first pair of teammates to accomplish those feats in the same season in Big Ten women’s basketball history. Czinano is averaging 17.6 points and is shooting 62.6% from the floor this year.

A season ago, she earned All-Big Ten accolades, was named a semifinalist for the Lisa Leslie Center of the Year and was an Associated Press and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association All-America honorable mention. For the second time in her career, she was named to both of the preseason all-conference teams.