Clark Earns USBWA First Team All-America Honors

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior guard Caitlin Clark was named a First Team All-American by the United States Basketball Writers Association for the second consecutive year on Wednesday. She earned the same honors in 2022.

This season, Clark is the only player in the nation with more than 860 points, 235 rebounds, 265 assists, and 45 steals. She has registered +25 points, +5 rebounds, and +5 assists in 16 games this year and 38 times in her career which is the most in NCAA women’s basketball history.

Against teams that are top 26 in the NET Rankings, Clark picks it up a notch averaging 29.6 ppg, 8.4 apg, and 7.1 rpg. Iowa leads the nation in AP Top 10 victories with five.

Most recently, she became the first player in Big Ten Tournament Championship history to record a triple-double. Clark finished with 30 points, 10 rebounds, and 17 assists, the latter figure is also a title-game record and second-most in any BTT game. Clark was subsequently voted the tournament’s Jim and Kitty Delany Most Outstanding Player by the media, becoming the third two-time recipient of the award.

Clark is leading the nation’s best offense with 27.0 ppg, 7.5 rpg, and 8.3 apg. She also paces the country with four triple-doubles this season. Clark accounts for 52% of Iowa’s offensive output in points and assists.

She currently leads Division I in several statistical categories including assists per game, three pointers made (108), and triple doubles (4). She has scored 30 or more points in 10 games, including a pair of 40-point games.

The West Des Moines, Iowa, native also was recognized as Big Ten Player of the Year for the second consecutive season as well as The Athletic National Player of the Year. She was also a unanimous Associated Press and All-Big Ten First Teamer.

Clark and the 2-Seeded Hawkeyes are set to host 15-Seed SE Louisiana on Friday at 3 p.m. (CT) inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena in the First Round of the NCAA Tournament. The game will broadcast coast-to-coast on ESPN.