Clark Named 2022-23 Academic All-America® of the Year

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The College Sports Communicators (CSC) announced Wednesday the 2022-23 Academic All-America® women’s basketball teams for NCAA Division I-II-III and NAIA, headlined by University of Iowa’s Caitlin Clark, Brooke Olson from the University of Minnesota Duluth, Anderson University’s (IN) Lexi Dellinger, and Grace Beyer of the University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis.

Clark (Division I), Olson (Division II), Dellinger (Division III) and Beyer (NAIA) have each been named the Academic All-America® Team Member of the Year award winner for their respective divisions.

It’s the seventh time a women’s basketball student-athlete from a current Big Ten member institution has earned that award, and the third time in eight years — another Hawkeye, Ally Disterhoft, received the honor in both 2016 and 2017.

Clark also earned Academic All-America honors last year and becomes the third Iowa student-athlete to be a two-time selection, joining Disterhoft (who garnered three consecutive citations from 2015-17) and Lindsey Meder (2000-01). Clark is the sixth Hawkeye overall to be chosen as an Academic All-American, with at least one Iowa student-athlete making the grade in six of the past nine years (since 2015).

The West Des Moines, Iowa, native, carries a 3.60 GPA while majoring in marketing. This year, she is averaging 27.0 points, 8.3 assists, 7.5 rebounds, and 1.4 steals per game for the Big Ten champion Hawkeyes. She currently leads Division I in several statistical categories including assists per game, three pointers made (108), and triple doubles (4).

She scored 30 or more points in 10 games, including a pair of 40-point games. She was named the Big Ten Player of the Year by both the coaches and the media for the second straight year. Clark was recently named a finalist for three national awards, the Nancy Lieberman Award, the Wooden Award and the Dawn Staley Award, and a semifinalist for the Naismith Women’s Player of the Year. She won both the Lieberman and Staley awards last season.

Five of the 16 members of the Academic All-America® Division I women’s basketball teams boast a perfect 4.0 GPA in their undergraduate work or graduate school. The five members of the first team have an average GPA of 3.82, with the entire Division I team holding a collective average GPA of 3.87.

Four other student-athletes join Clark as a repeat selection on the Academic All-America® Division I team. Aaliyah Boston of the University of South Carolina earns her third Academic All-America® honor after being named the Academic All-America® Team Member of the Year the last two seasons. Myah Selland of South Dakota State University also earned her third Academic All-America® honor. The other repeat selections from 2021-22 were Mary Crompton (Illinois State University) and Makenna Marisa (Pennsylvania State University).