Caitlin Clark Tabbed Wade Trophy Recipient

DALLAS — University of Iowa junior Caitlin Clark is the recipient of the 2023 Wade Trophy. The announcement was made on Thursday by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA).

Clark is the first Hawkeye to earn the distinction, which is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year honor in women’s basketball. She is the first Big Ten player to win the award since Purdue’s Stephanie White in 1999.

Additionally, Clark was included on the Coaches’ All-America team as chosen by Division I head coaches.

"On behalf of the WBCA, I am honored to present women’s basketball’s highest honor, the Wade Trophy, to Caitlin Clark. Caitlin is a three-time WBCA Coaches’ All-American and was the 2021 WBCA NCAA Division I Co-Freshman of the Year. Her extraordinary season has stretched the record books for both women’s and men’s basketball. She has led Iowa to its second Women’s Final Four and she has electrified fans and media to an exciting new level. She is an exceptional player whose dominance has inspired the next generation of women’s and girls’ basketball players."

WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew

The most dominant player in women’s college basketball, Clark has already been recognized as the 2023 Naismith Trophy and The Athletic National Player of the Year, as well as being voted a Big Ten Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. A unanimous first team Associated Press and All-Big Ten honoree, Clark also excels in the classroom being voted the 2023 Academic All-American of the Year. Clark is also a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award, Wade Trophy, Ann Meyers Drysdale, Dawn Staley and Nancy Lieberman awards.

Clark has captivated audiences with her style of play, posting unprecedented numbers of 984 points, 311 assists, 262 rebounds, 127 three-pointers, 56 steals and 20 blocks in leading the Hawkeyes to a historic season. She is the first Division I women’s basketball player to record more than 900 points and 300 assists in the same season. Her 984 points are sixth most in Division I history and second most in a single season in Big Ten history (1,001 by Gustafson in 2019).

The West Des Moines, Iowa, native has registered +25 points, +5 rebounds and +5 assists in 18 games this year (most in Division I) and 40 times in her career; most in NCAA women’s basketball history.

Clark leads the nation’s best offense averaging 27.3 points, 7.3 rebounds and 8.6 assists per game. She accounts for 57 percent of Iowa’s offensive output in points and assists.

She leads Division I in several statistical categories including assists per game (8.6), three-pointers made (127), and triple-doubles (5). She has scored 30 or more points in 12 games, including three 40-point performances. Clark broke Iowa’s junior single season records in scoring and assists. She also became the Big Ten single season statistical champion in assists (311).

In Iowa’s four NCAA Tournament games this March, Clark is averaging 30 points, 11 assists, 5.8 rebounds, 4.8 three-pointers and 2.5 steals.

In Iowa’s last outing against Louisville, Clark recorded her 11th career triple-double totaling 41 points, 12 assists and 10 rebounds. She became the first player in NCAA Tournament history to record a 40-point triple-double. The 41-point performance ties for the third most points scored in NCAA Tournament Regional Final history. Her 41 points and eight 3-pointers made are Iowa NCAA Tournament single game records.

The Wade Trophy is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen.

Clark and the second-ranked Iowa women’s basketball team (30-6) will face top-ranked South Carolina (36-0) on Friday in the national semifinals at American Airlines Center in Dallas. Tipoff is scheduled for approximately 8:30 p.m. (CT). The game will be televised on ESPN and broadcast on the Hawkeye Radio Network.