Game Notes: 2-Seed Iowa vs. 3-Seed LSU for National Title

Opponent No. 2 Iowa (31-6, 15-3) vs. No. 3 LSU (33-2, 15-3)
Date Sunday, April 2
Location American Airlines Center // Dallas
Tipoff 2:30 p.m. (CT)
Radio Hawkeye Radio Network // Sirius XM, Westwood One

2-Seed Iowa is set to battle 3-Seed LSU in the NCAA National Championship inside the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas on Sunday, April 2. Tip-off for the contest is set for 2:30 p.m. (CT).

The game will broadcast on ABC. Andraya Carter, Rebecca Lobo, Ryan Ruocco, and Holly Rowe will call the action.

This will be the fourth meeting between the two programs. Iowa leads the all-time series, 2-1.

– The Hawkeyes have been a 2-Seed three times since 2019.
– This is the fifth time in school history Iowa has been tabbed as a 2-Seed.
– The Hawkeyes are 12-4 all-time in the NCAA Tournament as a 2-Seed (1993, 1996, 2019, 2022).
– Iowa’s Final Four appearance came in 1993 and the latest Elite Eight showing in 2019.

– This is LSU’s first Final Four appearance since 2008.
– The Tigers have an average win margin of +24.6 ppg.
– LSU’s path to the Final Four: Hawaii, Michigan, Utah, Miami (FL), and Virginia Tech.
– The Tiger crash the glass well, averaging nearly 15 more than their opponent every night on the floor.
– Angel Reese averages a double-double with 23.5 ppg and 15.6 rpg.

– Iowa set a program record for most wins in a single season over South Carolina to advance to its first NCAA title game in
school history.
– Iowa won its third Big Ten Tournament title since 2019, over Ohio State which was the largest marging of victory in BTT
Championship history.
– Caitlin Clark was named the Big Ten Player of the Year for the second consective season.
– Monika Czinano and Clark were unanimous All-Big Ten selections.
– Clark won the Naismith, WBCA, Associated Press, USBWA National Player of the Year trophies in Dallas.
– Since 2008, Bluder’s teams own a 230-42 record inside of Carver-Hawkeye Arena. In that stretch, the Hawkeyes have posted
three undefeated seasons at home. Over the last eight years, Iowa has dropped the second-fewest regular season home
games in the Big Ten.
– Iowa welcomes four new players to the 2022-23 roster: Molly Davis, Jada Gyamfi, Taylor McCabe, and Hannah Stuelke. Gyamfi,
McCabe, and Stuelke are all true freshmen, hailing from Johnston, Cedar Rapids and Fremont, Nebraska, respectively. Davis is a
fourth-year transfer from Central Michigan.
– Clark was named The Athletic National Player of the Year and a unanimous AP First Team All-American.
– Czinano was tabbed as a Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Semifinalist.
– Iowa set a program record against Evansville scoring 115 points earlier this season.
– Iowa has had five out of the last six Big Ten Players of the Year.
– The Hawkeyes have a nation’s best six wins against AP Top 10 opponents.
– Clark was the Big Ten Tournament MVP for the second straight season which has only happened three times in conference
– For the first time in the Lisa Bluder era, the Hawkeyes won 15 Big Ten regular season conference games.
– This is Iowa’s 29th trip in school history to the Big Dance.
– Over the last eight postseason games, Gabbie Marshall is shooting 23-47 from 3-point range.
– Bluder owns a 494-248 (.664) record and a 247-141 (.637) conference mark at Iowa. In her 38 seasons as a head coach, Bluder
is 850-389 (.685).