Amelon, Merriweather Earn Iowa’s B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Former Hawkeyes Jordan Amelon (women’s golf) and Kaevon Merriweather (football) have been selected as Iowa’s 2023 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. The duo were chosen from Iowa’s list of 2022-23 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winners, which had a representative from each varsity sport.

Amelon, an Iowa City, Iowa native, posted a 78.46 scoring average over 32.5 rounds during her senior season. Amelon played in 11 tournaments in 2022-23, which included a career-best 34th place showing at the Fresno Golf Classic. She also tied for 35th at the National Golf Invitational, helping the Hawkeyes to a team runner-up finish. During the fall, Amelon shot a career low round of 70 (-2) at the Ron Moore Intercollegiate in Colorado.

Merriweather, a native of Belleville, Michigan, was named first-team All-America by Pro Football Focus, second-team All-America by Sporting News and Associated Press, and third-team All-America by Phil Steele. Merriweather was named first-team All-Big Ten by Phil Steele, second-team All-Big Ten by Associated Press and honorable mention All-Big Ten by league coaches and media. He was named a Permanent Team Captain, defense, and earned the Coaches Appreciation Award, defense. He was also recognized with the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. His career statistics include 118 tackles, with four interceptions for 33 yards and one fumble return for a 30-yard touchdown. Merriweather was named Big Ten co-Defensive Player of the Week following Iowa’s win at Rutgers in 2022, as he had a fumble return touchdown and a pass interception. As a senior, Merriweather was named one of 20 semifinalists for the Jason Whitten Collegiate Man of the Year Award, while he was recognized by Iowa media with the Duke Slater Golden Gavel Award as a junior. That award is presented to the Iowa football player who not only is most cooperative with local media, but exhibits themselves with professional integrity in all interactions. He was a member of the Player Council as a junior and senior. Merriweather participated in the 2023 Senior Bowl and signed a free agent contract with Tampa Bay.

The Big Ten first awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship honor in 2003. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior, were in good academic standing and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Following is a list of Iowa’s past Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners:

Year Men’s Award Winner Women’s Award Winner
2003 Stuart Waters, Men’s Tennis Kristin Johnson, Softball
2004 Nate Kaeding, Football Laura Chipman, Softball
2005 Joe Johnston, Wrestling Jennifer Skolaski, Swimming & Diving
2006 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Liz Grajewski, Women’s Gymnastics
2007 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Kara Zappone, Field Hockey
2008 Bart van Monsjou, Men’s Tennis Brittany Keyes, Rowing
2009 Christian Bierich, Men’s Tennis Wendy Ausdemore, Women’s Basketball
2010 A.J. Edds, Football Laura Cilek, Women’s Golf
2011 Chris Brant, Men’s Golf Kelsey Cermak, Women’s Basketball
2012 Matt Gatens, Men’s Basketball Betsy Flood, Women’s Track & Field
2013 Eric May, Men’s Basketball Mareike Schrulle, Women’s Cross Country
2014 James Morris, Football Theairra Taylor, Women’s Basketball
2015 Mark Weisman, Football Melissa Dixon, Women’s Basketball
2016 Drew Ott, Football Amy Ihm, Women’s Golf
2017 Nicholas Baer, Men’s Basketball Sophie Plasteras, Field Hockey
2018 Spencer Lee, Wrestling Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball
2019 Alex Marinelli, Wrestling Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball
2020 Connor McCaffery, Men’s Basketball Makenzie Meyer, Women’s Basketball
2021 Mehki Sargent, Football Kate Martin, Women’s Basketball
2022 Patrick McCaffery, Men’s Basketball Bailey Ortega, Volleyball
2023 Kaevon Merriweather, Football Jordan Amelon, Women’s Golf