Iowa Football Names 2023 Player Council

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa football program has named 15 players to the 2023 Player Council, it was announced Monday by head coach Kirk Ferentz.

The group includes three sixth-year players, six seniors and six juniors. The purpose of the group is to assist in formulating policies and being involved in team decision-making throughout the year. Players were selected following coaching staff and player input.

The group consists of sixth-year student-athletes Joe Evans, Nico Ragaini and Noah Shannon, seniors Kyler Fisher, Jay Higgins, Logan Lee, Cade McNamara, Quinn Schulte and Tory Taylor and juniors Deontae Craig, Cooper DeJean, Jermari Harris, Luke Lachey and Mason Richman.

The Hawkeyes open the 2023 season Saturday, hosting Utah State at 11:03 a.m. (CT) inside Kinnick Stadium.  The game is sold out.

2023 Iowa Football Player Council

Name Year Hometown
Deontae Craig Jr. Fort Wayne, Ind.
Cooper DeJean Jr. Odebolt, Iowa
Joe Evans 6th Ames, Iowa
Kyler Fisher Sr. Farnhamville, Iowa
Jermari Harris Jr. Chicago, Ill.
Jay Higgins Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Logan Jones Jr. Council Bluffs, Iowa
Luke Lachey Jr. Columbus, Ohio
Logan Lee Sr. Orion, Ill.
Cade McNamara Sr. Reno, Nev.
Nico Ragaini 6th East Haven, Conn.
Mason Richman Jr. Leawood, Kan.
Quinn Schulte Sr. Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Noah Shannon 6th Aurora, Ill.
Tory Taylor Sr. Melbourne, Australia