5 Hawkeyes Named Academic-All District

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Five members of the University of Iowa women’s soccer team earned CSC Academic All-District honors for the 2023 season. The achievement marks a program record for all-district honorees in a single season.­­

“Committing the energy and effort to be successful both in the classroom and on the field is a goal that we strive to accomplish,” said Head Coach Dave DiIanni. “These five women are great examples of that commitment.”

The CSC Academic All-America program recognizes the nation’s top collegiate athletes for performance in the classroom and on the pitch. To qualify for All-District recognition, each student-athlete was required to earn at least a 3.5 GPA and demonstrate athletic excellence while meeting a 90 percent game participation threshold.

Fifth-year Samantha Cary earned the honor for the third consecutive season. Cary was also was named All-Big Ten Second Team, leading the Iowa defense to a program record 13 shutouts with a team-high 1,957 minutes at the defender position. Cary is also a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree (2020, 2021, 2022) and two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar (2021, 2022).

The CSC Academic All-District recognition is a first for senior Maggie Johnston, junior Elle Otto, junior Kenzie Roling and sophomore Shae Doherty.

Johnston was previously an Academic All-Big Ten honoree (2021, 2022) and Big Ten Distinguished Scholar (2022). Roling also earned academic all-conference accolades for the 2022 season.

Johnston was a team captain in 2023, helping anchor the stellar Hawkeye defense while putting up six points of her own through 22 starts. Roling notched three goals and five assists, also starting all 22 games for the Hawkeyes.

Otto ranked third on the team for points (11) and goals (5) this season. Doherty scored four points in her first season at Iowa, making 13 starts and playing 844 minutes through 21 contests.

Academic-All District honorees advance to the CSC Academic All-America ballot. National honors will be announced on Dec. 20 for Division I women’s soccer student-athletes.