Bluder Tabbed to Naismith COY Late Season Watch List

IOWA CITY, Iowa — P. Sue Beckwith, MD, Head Iowa women’s basketball coach, Lisa Bluder, was named to the Werner Ladder Naismith Coach of the Year Late Season Watch List on Wednesday. Bluder was a Semifinalist a season ago and was the recipient of the award in 2019.

Presented annually to the most outstanding men’s and women’s head coach who achieves tremendous on-court success.

Jersey Mike’s is proud to partner with the Naismith Awards in recognizing the outstanding efforts of collegiate athletes and coaches, rewarding their drive and achievements on the court.

Bluder has guided the program to its eighth consecutive season with 20 or more victories in her 24th year as the head coach at the University of Iowa. Under her direction, the Hawkeyes have the longest active streak at 15 weeks inside the AP Top 5.

Coach Notes
– Bluder owns 17 AP Top 10 wins which is the most in program history.
– Is third among active DI coaches in the country for most wins. (873)
– Longest tenured coach in the Big Ten conference.
– All-time winningest coach in Iowa women’s basketball history.
– Owns the most Big Ten conference wins in conference history.
– Has coached five out of the last six Big Ten players of the year.
– Won six Big Ten titles. (4 BTT’s and 2 Regular Season)
– Coached two consensus National Player of the Year.
– Has coached the Hawkeyes to 21 postseason appearances in 23 seasons, including NCAA Tournament berths in 13 of the last 15 seasons.
– She has led UI to the Sweet 16 (2021), Elite Eight (2019), National Championship (2023) in three out of the last four championship seasons. (Covid)

About the Atlanta Tipoff Club
Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.