Hawkeyes Qualify 7 to NCAA Championships

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa Track and Field qualified seven student-athletes to the NCAA Indoor Championships in Boston, Massachusetts, on March 8-9.

Three-time indoor All-American Austin West has qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships for the fourth consecutive year. Fellow senior and two-time indoor All-American Grant Conway is making his third appearance at the championships. Sprinter Kalen Walker returns to the championships after earning second-team All-America honors in 2022.

Seniors Paige Magee and Tionna Tobias, along with junior Rivaldo Marshall and freshman Daniela Wamokpego are making their first NCAA DI Indoor Championship appearances of their careers.

West, a multi-event specialist from Iowa City, Iowa, was the Big Ten’s runner-up in the heptathlon on Feb. 24, tallying a lifetime-best 5,975 points. His new career high ranks second at Iowa. West has earned second-team All-America honors three times, improving from 13th in 2021 to 10th in 2022 to 9th in 2023.

Conway, a hurdler from St. James, Missouri, qualified with a personal-best 7.66 at the Big Ten Championships on Feb. 24. The mark ranks fourth in program history. He ultimately finished fifth at the conference meet. A two-time second team All-American, Conway made his first appearance in 2022, placing 15th with a 7.84. Last season, Conway improved to 12th in 7.83.

Walker, a sprinter from Eddyville, Iowa, is the program’s school-record holder in the 60-meter dash, clocking a 6.51 in the preliminary round at the Big Ten Championships. He is the Big Ten’s runner-up in the event and enters the NCAA meet ranked third in the nation. He returns to the national meet after placing 13th in 2022 with a 6.64. Walker is a two-time conference Men’s Track Athlete of the Week.

Magee, a native of Columbia, Missouri, is Iowa’s school record holder in the 60-meter hurdles and is making her NCAA Indoor Championships debut. Magee clocked the program’s first sub-8.00 time at the Big Ten Championships on her way to a runner-up finish on Feb. 24. She enters the NCAA meet as the six seed. Magee is a two-time Big Ten Women’s Track Athlete of the Week honoree in 2024.

Tobias, a senior from Sicklerville, New Jersey, qualified in the long jump following a 6.41-meter (12’ 0.5”) mark at the New Mexico Collegiate Classic on Feb. 2. Tobias is within one-hundredth of the school record. Among 57 competitors, Tobias placed fifth in Albuquerque.

Marshall, a junior newcomer from Indian Hills CC, was the 2023 NJCAA 800-meter champion with a 1:50.56. The Kingston, Jamaica, native avenged a second-place finish in 2022. Marshall set Iowa’s school record with a personal-best 1:46.86 at the Tyson Invitational in Fayetteville, Arkansas, on Feb. 10. Following his 1:47.83 finish at the Jimmy Grant Invitational on Dec. 9, Marshall was named the DI Men’s National Athlete of the Week by the US Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. It was Marshall’s first National Athlete of the Week honor as a Hawkeye and fourth of his career. The award also marked the first ever indoor National Athlete of the Week honor for the Iowa men’s program.

Wamokpego, a triple jump specialist from Meaux, France, broke Iowa’s school record at the Tyson Invitational on Feb. 10, leaping 13.24 meters (43’ 5.25”). She finished fifth in her Big Ten Championships debut. Wamokpego was named the Big Ten’s Women’s Field Athlete of the Week on Dec. 13 and Feb. 14.

The NCAA DI Indoor Track & Field Championships begin on Friday, March 8th, at 8:30 a.m. (CT) and will air on the ESPN family of networks.


Times listed in CT.

No. 3 Kalen Walker – 60m

(Prelim: 3/8 @ 3:15 p.m. | Final: 3/9 @ 3 p.m.)

No. 6 Paige Magee – 60mH

(Prelim: 3/8 @ 7:05 p.m. | Final: 3/9 @ 6:40 p.m.)

No. 7 Rivaldo Marshall – 800m

(Prelim: 3/8 @ 3:50 p.m. | Final: 3/9 @ 3:30 p.m.)

No. 8 Austin West – Heptathlon

(3/8 @ 8:30 a.m. | 3/9 @ 9:30 a.m.)

No. 16 Tionna Tobias – Long Jump

(Prelim/Final: 3/8 @ 6 p.m.)

No. 16 Grant Conway – 60mH

(Prelim: 3/8 @ 4:05 p.m. | Final: 3/9 @ 3:40 p.m.)

No. 16 Daniela Wamokpego – Triple Jump

(Prelim/Final: 3/9 @ 5:30 p.m.)