WBB NCAA S16 Game Notes: 5-Seed Colorado

1-Seed Iowa will face 5-Seed Colorado in the Sweet 16 in the NCAA Tournament on Saturday. Tip-off is set for 2:30 p.m. (CT) inside MVP Arena in Albany, New York.

» Saturday’s contest will air nationally on ABC, the Hawkeye Radio Network, and Sirius XM Channel 210/203.

» Rob Brooks and Tiff Reedy will call the action on the Hawkeye Radio Network.
» Brooks is in his eighth year as the play-by-play announcer for the Iowa women’s basketball team. He has been Iowa football’s sideline reporter since 2004. Brooks has called seven different Iowa sports on radio or television.
» Reedy was four-year letterwinner from 2002-06 at Iowa and is a native of Dysart, Iowa.

» Iowa leads the all-time series, 4-3.
» In the last meeting, Iowa beat CU in the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament, 87-77.
» Iowa has won three straight against the Buffs dating back to 2014.

» Colorado had five players earn six Pac-12 postseason honors. Jaylyn Sherrod and Aaronette Vonleh earned All-Conference. Frida Fromann and Quay Miller were honorable mention All-Conference. Sherrod was All-Defensive team and Kindyll Wetta as honorable mention All-Defensive.
» The Buffs are 5-2 on a neutral floor this season.
» Colorado’s path: R64: Drake (W, 86-72) and R32: Kansas State (W, 63-50)

» The Hawkeyes have been a No. 1 Seed in the NCAA Tournament three times in school history. (1988, 1992, and 2024)
» Iowa is 4-2 all-time in the NCAA Tournament as 1-Seed.
» UI has advanced to the Sweet 16 twice as a No. 1 Seed. (1987 and 2024)

» Clark became the first player in DI women’s basketball history to notch a 1,000+ points and 300+ assists single season in 2023. Clark is closing in on that this season.
» Clark produced the first 40-point triple-double in men’s or women’s NCAA Tournament history against UL. (41p, 12a, 10r)
» Against Louisville and South Carolina, Clark was the first player to net back-to-back 40-point performances in the NCAA Tourney.
» In month of March in 2023, Marshall was 23-of-47 from deep.

» Marshall (162) and Martin (160) are eyeing Monika Czinano’s games played record. (162)
» Iowa is 8-4 when Clark records 40 or more points.
» Marshall is 19-of-42 from deep in the last five games.
» Clark has 64 career games with 25+ points, 5+ assists, and 5+ rebounds. (NCAA Best)
» Over the last 25 seasons, no has recorded more 30+ point games in men’s or women’s college basketball than Clark. (57)
» Martin has recorded 15+ points in 16 games this year which is a career best.
» Iowa is looking to break its program record for most wins in a single season. (2023, 31)
» Since 2019, the Hawkeyes are 13-4 in the NCAA Tournament.
» Martin has registered a career-best five double-doubles this season.
» Iowa is 5-0 when Martin records a double-double in 2023-24.
» Clark has 20 games in her career with 35+ points, 5+ assists, 5+ rebounds which is the most in women’s college basketball since 2009-10.
» Clark has registered 25+ points, 5+ assists, and 5+ rebounds in 22 out of the last 28 games.
» Among active players whom didn’t transfer, Marshall (126) and Martin (123) are third and fourth nationally for most active wins in a career.

» Since Davis’ injury, Affolter is 19-of-37 from the floor, 7-of-12 from three point range, and 18-of-18 from the charity stripe.
» Iowa broke the Big Ten’s single season record for 3-pointers made which was set by Iowa (350) a season ago. They Hawkeyes have made 388 treys this season.
» Iowa has made 54 three-point baskets in postseason play.
» Stuelke is 22-of-30 from the free throw line the last six games.
» Since February, Iowa is shooting 165-408 (40%) from three.
» Iowa has assisted on 66% of its field goals this year.

» Bluder owns 18 AP Top 10 wins which is the most in program history.
» Has the 10th most wins in Division-I women’s basketball history and is third among active DI head coaches. (881)
» Bluder is 20-17 all-time in NCAA Tournaments at Iowa.
» Owns the most Big Ten conference wins in conference history.
» Won seven Big Ten titles. (5 BTT’s and 2 Regular Season)
» 1-of-27 Division I women’s basketball coaches to win 20+ games in the NCAA Tournament at one institution.
» Coached two consensus National POYs.
» Has coached the Hawkeyes to four Sweet 16s since 2019.
» She has led UI to the Sweet 16 (2021), Elite Eight (2019), National Championship (2023) in three out of the last four championship seasons. (Covid)
» Owns eight straight 20-win seasons. It is the longest streak in her career, C. Vivian Stringer had 10 consecutive 20+ win seasons from 1984-94.