Hawkeyes Win Two at Furman

Sept. 28, 2003

Greenville, SC –

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Iowa women’s tennis team concluded the Furman Invitational with two additional wins on the last day of competition.

Freshman Hillary Mintz defeated Carein Venter of Middle Tennessee State, 6-1, 6-3 to capture fifth place in flight three. Also finishing fifth was Gloria Okino. Penn State’s Sasha Abraham forfeited due to an injury, giving Okino the flight four win.

In Flight Five, Hilary Tyler lost the championship match to South Carolina’s Fallon Koon, 7-6 (6), 6-3. Tyler recorded Iowa’s highest placing, taking second.

Hilde Jansma lost her flight six match to Ana Marie Cibils of Middle Tennessee State to finish sixth. Jennifer Hodgman was defeated by South Carolina’s Christyn Lucas to finish eighth.

The Hawkeyes will continue competition October 3-5 at the Indiana Invitational.

Flight Two Singles:

Christyn Lucas (USC) def. Jennifer Hodgman (UI), 6-2, 6-3

Flight Three Singles:
Hillary Mintz (UI)
def. Carein Venter (MTSU), 6-1, 6-3

Flight Four Singles:
Gloria Okino (UI)
def. Sasha Abraham (PSU), Injury

Flight Five Singles:
Fallon Koon (USC) def. Hilary Tyler (UI), 7-6 (6), 6-3

Flight Six Singles:
Ana Marie Cibils (MTSU) def. Hilde Jansma (UI), 6-2, 7-5