Mintz Takes Second at Hoosier

Oct. 6, 2003

Bloomington, IN –

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Iowa women’s tennis team finished the Hoosier Classic with freshman Hillary Mintz taking second in the Flight C singles bracket. Indiana’s Laura McGaffigan won the bracket, defeating Mintz in three sets, 6-2, 5-7, 1-0 (8).

The rest of the Hawkeye team fared no better. Hilary Tyler placed fourth after losing to Indiana’s Cecile Perton, 6-4, 6-2, while Hilde Jansma took sixth after a defeat by Lucie Ruskova of Missouri.

The Hawkeyes return to action October 23-26 at the ITA Midwest Regionals at Kalamazoo, MI.

Singles Flight B:

Jaclyn Leeper (Murray St) def. Jennifer Hodgman (Iowa), 6-3, 6-2

Singles Flight C:
Laura McGaffigan (Indiana) def. Hillary Mintz (Iowa), 6-2, 5-7, 1-0 (8)

Singles Flight D:
Karie Schlukebir (Indiana) def. Gloria Okino (Iowa), 6-2, 6-2

Singles Flight E:
Cecile Perton (Indiana) def. Hilary Tyler (Iowa), 6-4, 6-2
Lucie Ruskova (Missouri) def. Hilde Jansma (Iowa), 6-2, 6-1